It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Africa Development Indicators (ADI) is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. The ADI Data Availability Query shows where data is available for a given country, series, and year. It contains the value "1" for available data and ".." for missing data.
Al Manhal is a major full-text searchable database of scholarly and analytical publications from the Middle East, Africa, and Asia. Material is primarily in Arabic, with selected material in English, French, and Turkish. Includes ebooks, peer-reviewed journals, and think tank publications.
This database provides searchable, primary source documents held by the National Archives, Kew (U.K.) that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab Israeli conflict.
On 22 March 1945 the Pact of the Arab League States was signed in Cairo by Egypt, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Transjordan and Saudi Arabia. Its objectives were closer unity between members, the safeguarding of their sovereignty and coordinated political action. Here now in facsimile are the authentic documents of that time, and the following 20 years, following the aims and the progress of the main organ of Arab unity this century.
Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
Provides area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Northeast Asia and Asia-Pacific. The database is designed to provide easy bibliographic and fulltext access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.
The main focus of this encyclopedia is China from the mid-19th century to the 21st century. It contains the information on the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
This study presents an account of the exercise of extra-territorial jurisdiction by Britain in the Arab Gulf States during the period before the Gulf States gained full sovereignty and independence. It provides avaluable analysis of the working of the British Court System in the Arab context. The material is based on the author´s original research among thejuridical records of the British Court for Bahrain and on interviews with judges and lawyers of the period.
This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem pertaining to the protection of interests of American citizens,foreign trade, shipping, and immigration.
Includes full text and/or full image articles from 2,000+ journals published in China. GW subscription covers the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
Access to current statistical data on a variety of economic and demographic aspects of China. Includes monthly and annual reports on economic development, as well as data from various industries, information on specific companies, statistical yearbooks for China as a whole and from various regions, and a range of census-related information.
This database contains thousands of such texts from higher education institutions and research institutes in China since 1984, in the broad subject areas in arts, humanities and social sciences, including art, literature, language, history, philosophy, military affairs, law, education, economics and management. Coverage of dissertations and theses from top universities and research institutes, including "985 Project" and "211 Project" universities and Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, is almost complete.
China Proceedings of Conference Full-text Database collects proceedings of domestic and international conferences sponsored by societies, associations, universities and institutions, and governments of the first and second levels in China.
A full-text searchable database consisting of 847 titles with 5740 volumes of statistical yearbooks published in China. Database features include keyword data search, data analysis, and browse by category and title. In English & Chinese.
Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, CiNii (pronounced like "sigh-knee"), enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic journals, university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Access to full text documents is possible with 3.2 million of the 12 million articles currently available.
Commonwealth Magazine is a storehouse of information on Taiwan's economic development and the transformation of its society. This electronic journal includes over 310 issues, from the first issue in 1981 through the current issue.
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive offers annual data for a range of countries from 1815 to the present, organized in the form of an Excel spreadsheet. The data includes over 200 economic, social and political variables for over 200 countries.
The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Consists of approximately 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from 1830 to 1949 in all fields of knowledge as well as popular journals. A unique and valuable source for the studies of Chinese politics, history, culture, society, philosophy, literature and arts in that period.
The CPPCC Database is a collection of archives and documents of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), including: Resolutions and Statements, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Representatives Lists, Agendas, Session Updates, Reports, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals and Suggestions from Representatives, News Reports, Video Reports, etc. Simultaneous Users: 2
NPC Database is a collection of reports, primarily by People's Daily and People's Daily Online, on National People's Congress, from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to the 3rd Session of the 10th NPC. Simultaneous Users: 2
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Mostly intended for professional researchers, but also accessible to beginners and casual users.
Provides information about and, in many cases, full-text searching and / or limited views (up to about 20 pages) of 2,600,000 Chinese books. A useful tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. Works best on Internet Explorer.
Provides political, economic, and business information on countries. Generally, the best way to use the database is to select country report under My Reports and Services and then select the country from the list that is then displayed.
Provides intensive area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe. The database provides unusual historical depth for Soviet and WWII history, including diplomatic/historical documentation such as diplomatic papers and the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in fulltext.
Provides detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories. This resource also provides analytical essays on the following regions: Africa South of the Sahara Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australasia, The Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, The USA and Canada, and Western Europe.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
The Siraj al-tawarikh is the most important history of Afghanistan ever written. The roots of much of the fabric of Afghanistan's society today - tribe and state relations, the rule of law, gender issues, and the economy - are elegantly and minutely detailed in this immense work.
The Homeland Digital Security Library compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and related national strategy. Information in the HDSL comes from federal, state and local agencies, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. Includes documents created since 2002, plus some earlier documents relevant to current initiatives. Sponsored by the Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants & Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense & Security.
An index of English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories on Jewish history, thought and activity from more than 160 journals on Jewish affairs. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
Click on "IP Login" to connect. Off-campus users should click "IP Login" and then return to this page and click on Indiastat again. Indiastat.com is a gateway to comprehensive and authentic socio-economic information related to India. It includes data on subjects and areas such as agriculture, education, tourism, health and industry. Simultaneous users: 1.
Contains 10 periodicals and reports published in Taiwan, including Taiwan Economic Research Monthly, Annual Survey on Economic Trends, APEC Newsletter and Research Reports. The database features domestic and overseas economic situation and trends, in-depth analyses on substantial industrial and economic issues, and informative research reports.
Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. Combines deep background from scholarly sources with expert commentary from a range of organizations, agencies, and publishers and reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social, and technical spectrum.
Japan Knowledge is one of the largest collections of resources about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (Illustrated), English-Japanese dictionaries and full text books. Simultaneous Users: 1
This collection provides insights into President Kennedy's views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are documents on the Bay of Pigs and Cuba, Berlin, American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and Latin American relations, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, and much more.
Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
Accessible through the JapanKnowledge site, Kokushi Daijiten is one of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history. It encompasses every aspect of Japan's history, including entries in related fields such as archaeology, folklore, religion, art, Japanese language and literature, and geography. Users can search among the main entries (about 54,000 entries) as well as subentries (about 4,000 entries carefully chosen from subentries of all levels), or search by articles' references or authors.
Contains more that 2,300 journals and over one million articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities funded by the National Research Foundation of Korea. Includes Korean and English abstracts.
Lectures presented by well-known Korean scholars and specialists on architecture, literature, culture, art, cinema, music, and philosophy. The continuing education lecture series contains a wide variety of video casts on each topic. (Part of KoreaA2Z.)
Databases includes approximately 2,300 Korean scholarly journals. All the journal titles are divided into 10 subject categories, and all the back issues of each journal title are available. Keyword searchable.
Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. The database covers a wide range of subjects, including languages, history, philosophy, literature, education, sociology, business/economics, law, science, mathematics, agriculture, engineering, medical science, arts, and physical education.
Keyword-searchable database of primary sources in Korean history, literature, medicine and philosophy. The database is also keyword searchable, and includes image files of original texts in classical Chinese with a searchable translated version in Korean.
The Latin Intelligence Service (LIS) provides a premier comprehensive intelligence service on 33 countries in Central America, Latin America and the Caribbean, covering political, security, economic and strategic issues. The database includes Latin American Weekly Report. Simultaneous users limited to 10.
This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.
Provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel & the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide. Provides access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.
Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes CountryWatch's Country Review.
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
Major database from Japan focusing on business and economics. Some titles available from 1876. Content in Japanese from a wide variety of national, local and technical newspapers, statistical and corporate sources. Content in English is from major Nikkei publications and national newspapers (Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi) as well as from major newspapers in Singapore (The Straits Times, The Business Times), Malaysia (New Straits Times, Business Times Malaysia, Bernama News), Indonesia (The Jakarta Post, Antara News), Vietnam (Viet Nam News), Thailand (Bangkok Post), Mongolia (Montsame Daily News), Taiwan (Want China Times, Focus Taiwan), China (People’s Daily Online) and Korea (Maeil Business Newspaper, Korea JoongAng Daily) among others.
Nikkoku Online = Unabridged Japanese Dictionary. A database version of the largest Japanese dictionary, Nihon Kokugo Dai-jiten, 2nd edition. The dictionary consists of 14 volumes, and contains 500,000 subjects as well as 1 million usage examples, which cover from classical Japanese to modern Japanese.
The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.
News, opinion and analysis, research tools, and primary and secondary data from and about the politics, military, society and culture of North Korea. Sections include: News, Intelligence, KCNA Watch, Analysis & Opinion, Investigation, Tools & Data, Real Life, Travel, Ask a North Korean.
Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, providing information on member countries economics, politics, and international affairs. Publications includes data from IEA, country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
The database Policies, Laws & Regulations of China provides valuable information on Chinese jurisdiction, legislature, and business laws. The database holds more than 1,000 records covering a comprehensive range of Chinese policies, regulations and Laws of both national and regional levels from 1949 onward. Simultaneous Users: 2
Includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources and from all branches of the armed forces. Includes both Russian and English language sources. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions.
Covers Russian and English publications, reports and data sets from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States.
Covers scholarship in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe: books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Materials in English, Russian, and other languages.
Provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Includes also several English-language newspapers such as the Moscow Times.
Provides records of the hearings of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation including also Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty, published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma, and Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee, responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Also includes texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions and Constitutional Court decisions, as well as popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo.
Presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation including Northern Caucasus, Western Siberia, the Volga region, and many others. Also provides coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The list of titles will continue to be expanded.
The Shen Bao (申报, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer.
Users must download a reader (using Internet Explorer) in order to access this resource. Please click on database link for more information. Please email The Global Resources Center at email@example.com or call 202 994-7105 for questions. Simultaneous users: 1
Covers armaments and arms control, conflicts and resolutions, security arrangements and disarmament, as well as longer-term trends in international security. (Access to SIPRI Yearbooks from 2010 onward.)
Includes full-text Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics, and also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life.
Users must create a login user name and password for access to database. Provides statistics, state government official documents, and comments of CMIE analysts on the data and CMIE forecasts. Published by the Centre for Monitoring Indian Economy (CMIE).
Offers full-text Taiwanese periodicals in five main categories: Social Sciences, Humanities, Applied Sciences, Medical & Life Sciences, and Natural Sciences. Searchable in English or Chinese. Abstracts are in English. Full-text (PDF) articles are in Chinese.
Access to this Japanese magazine published by the Taiwan Governor House during the Japanese colonial period. Issues included were politics, industry, trade, transportation, military, education, judiciary, police, civil engineering, technology, handicraft and arts.
Covers a time span from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese colonial period and incorporates local histories, and official documents of the Ming and Qing Dynasties. The database covers a wide variety of dimensions of Taiwan, including history, geography, local customs, politics, economy, sociology, laws and culture.
Since 1945, the U.S. intelligence community has had to cover a half dozen major wars and several dozen smaller but equally bloody armed conflicts in the Middle East, as well as innumerable civil wars, border clashes, armed insurgencies, and terrorist attacks. This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.
Apps for mobile devices. The Public Sector Debt Statistics (PSD) database, jointly developed by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, brings together detailed quarterly public sector debt data of selected countries, initially mainly developing /emerging market economies. The database facilitates timely dissemination in standard formats of public sector debt data, to support macroeconomic analysis and cross-country comparison.
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. See also World Bank for additional access to free WorldBank publications. Coverage: includes all official World Bank publications back to 2000.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
Full-text of the Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to present, the Daily Yomiuri & its English equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Full-text searching is available from Sept. 1986 to present.
The Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Databesu (雑誌記事索引集成データベース) database consists of index data of magazines and periodicals published from the Meiji Era to the present. In addition to the full National Diet Library current periodicals index, the database includes general and local periodicals and academic journals from before World War II. The number of the articles within the database is well over 110 million.