Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Global Resources Center (GRC) Databases
The GRC is a specialized collection in Gelman Library tailored to the needs of George Washington University’s globally-focused academic programs. The GRC offers a unique compilation of print, electronic, and digital resources, including English- and foreign-language newspapers, journals, magazines, statistical publications, maps, atlases, U.S. and foreign government documents, and other primary resource materials. The GRC’s interdisciplinary collections include specialized collections such as the China Documentation Center (CDC); Okinawa Collection / Japan Resource Center (JRC); Taiwan Resource Center (TRC); Korea Resources; Resource Center for Russia, Eurasia, Eastern and Central Europe (REECE); and the Middle East and North Africa Resource Center (MENA).
This research guide will lead you to databases that focus on international content in English and foreign languages. If you are unable to find what you need here, please contact us. We are available by phone at 202-994-7105, in person on the 7th floor of Gelman Library, and by email.
Middle East and North Africa Highlight
U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009 This link opens in a new window
Since 1945, the U.S. intelligence community has had to cover a half dozen major wars and several dozen smaller but equally bloody armed conflicts in the Middle East, as well as innumerable civil wars, border clashes, armed insurgencies, and terrorist attacks. This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.
Shen Bao (申报) This link opens in a new window
The Shen Bao (申报, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer.
Duxiu (读秀) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about and, in many cases, full-text searching and / or limited views (up to about 20 pages) of 2,600,000 Chinese books. A useful tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. Works best on Internet Explorer.
Indiastat.com This link opens in a new window
Click "Login" at the top, then select "Through IP Login." We recommend using Chrome for this database. Indiastat.com is a gateway to comprehensive and authentic socio-economic information related to India. It includes data on subjects and areas such as agriculture, education, tourism, health and industry.
CiNii (サイニィ) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, CiNii (pronounced like "sigh-knee"), enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic journals, university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Access to full text documents is possible with 3.2 million of the 12 million articles currently available.
Korean Studies History Culture Series This link opens in a new window
A multimedia database dedicated to Korean history and culture. The database includes 17 titles covering subjects such as archeology, Korean history, and art history.
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.