Global Resources Center Database Guide: CHINA

Brill's Chinese - English Dictionary Online starts off with the Student's Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese. Compiled by Paul W. Kroll and a small group of assisting scholars, it is a practical lexicon of more than 8,000 characters. Arranged alphabetically by Pinyin romanization, this long-awaited tool facilitates reading historical, literary, and religious texts dating from, in the first place, the Warring States period through the Tang dynasty. The dictionary is primarily a zidian 字典, not a cidian 詞典, but in addition to single-graph entries includes an abundance of lianmianci 連綿詞 and important compounds, as well as accurate identifications of plants, animals, and assorted technical terms in various fields. In short, an essential tool and the English-language resource of choice for students of pre-Song texts, and far beyond.

This open-access database provides historical sources on the Anti-Japanese War of Resistance and modern Sino-Japanese relations. The formats include books, journals, newspaper articles, images, archives, video/audio materials, maps and etc. In order to download materials from this platform, please create a free account. The maximum pages to download is 2,000 per month. The materials keep growing and will reach to approximately 13 million pages by the end of 2018.

GW subscription includes Chinese literature, CPC history, military, political science, international affairs and etc.

A very functional search engine by National Library of Germany with comprehensive index of resources from major databases, catalogs and open access materials focusing on Asia studies, especially China studies.

The archive currently holds about 3,400 carefully curated items that address various aspects of how the CCP, in the aftermath of Mao's death, dealt with past injustices. Scholarly introductions provide a starting point for exploring various facets of the available materials. Collections and exhibits showcase highlights from the archive. Translations of selected items allow access for non specialist readers. Other features include the ability to transcribe handwritten Chinese documents that have been uploaded, and a resources section that includes our Zhongfa Directory and extensive bibliography.

The Online Guide East Asia offers access to electronic resources related to East Asian studies - and Asian studies in general - in both western and original language. You may search a term and then filter your results by further criteria such as subject classes, region, language, kind of resource etc.

This database contains four seminal women's or gendered journals-a key genre of the new media-published between 1904 and 1937.
They include Nüzi shijie (Women's World, 1904-07), Funü shibao (The Women's Eastern Times, 1911-17), Funü zazhi (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31), and Linglong (Elegance, 1931-37).

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.

Exploring China Map Library with About 8 Million Maps including maps for Census data 2000 and 2010, Economic Census 2004 and 2008, Basic Unit Census 2001, industry Census 1995, Land Cover and Nighttime Lights.

Arranged alphabetically by Pinyin romanization, this long-awaited tool facilitates reading historical, literary, and religious texts dating from, in the first place, the Warring States period through the Tang dynasty. The dictionary is primarily a zidian 字典, not a cidian 詞典, but in addition to single-graph entries includes an abundance of lianmianci 連綿詞 and important compounds, as well as accurate identifications of plants, animals, and assorted technical terms in various fields. In short, an essential tool and the English-language resource of choice for students of pre-Song texts, and far beyond.