Global Resources Center Database Guide: JAPAN

Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different. To access, select from the complete list of Newsbank collections.

Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.

Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.

Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.

Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, CiNii (pronounced like "sigh-knee"), enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic journals, university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Access to full text documents is possible with 3.2 million of the 12 million articles currently available.

Japan Knowledge is one of the largest collections of resources about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (Illustrated), English-Japanese dictionaries and full text books. Simultaneous Users: 1

Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.

Authoritative English language encyclopedia of Japanese history, culture and society. Access is via Japan Knowledge database.

Accessible through the JapanKnowledge site, Kokushi Daijiten is one of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history. It encompasses every aspect of Japan's history, including entries in related fields such as archaeology, folklore, religion, art, Japanese language and literature, and geography. Users can search among the main entries (about 54,000 entries) as well as subentries (about 4,000 entries carefully chosen from subentries of all levels), or search by articles' references or authors.

Major database from Japan focusing on business and economics. Some titles available from 1876. Content in Japanese from a wide variety of national, local and technical newspapers, statistical and corporate sources. Content in English is from major Nikkei publications and national newspapers (Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi) as well as from major newspapers in Singapore (The Straits Times, The Business Times), Malaysia (New Straits Times, Business Times Malaysia, Bernama News), Indonesia (The Jakarta Post, Antara News), Vietnam (Viet Nam News), Thailand (Bangkok Post), Mongolia (Montsame Daily News), Taiwan (Want China Times, Focus Taiwan), China (People’s Daily Online) and Korea (Maeil Business Newspaper, Korea JoongAng Daily) among others.

Nikkoku Online = Unabridged Japanese Dictionary. A database version of the largest Japanese dictionary, Nihon Kokugo Dai-jiten, 2nd edition. The dictionary consists of 14 volumes, and contains 500,000 subjects as well as 1 million usage examples, which cover from classical Japanese to modern Japanese.

NOTE: for off-campus access, log into the GW VPN.

Full-text of the Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to present, the Daily Yomiuri & its English equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Full-text searching is available from Sept. 1986 to present. NOTE: for off-campus access, log into the GW VPN.

The Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Databesu (雑誌記事索引集成データベース) database consists of index data of magazines and periodicals published from the Meiji Era to the present. In addition to the full National Diet Library current periodicals index, the database includes general and local periodicals and academic journals from before World War II. The number of the articles within the database is well over 110 million.

Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources.

Declassified Documents Reference System, now U.S. Declassified Documents Online, provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries.

Provides political, economic, and business information on countries. Generally, the best way to use the database is to select country report under My Reports and Services and then select the country from the list that is then displayed.

Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6

Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

The Homeland Digital Security Library compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and related national strategy. Information in the HDSL comes from federal, state and local agencies, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. Includes documents created since 2002, plus some earlier documents relevant to current initiatives. Sponsored by the Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants & Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense & Security.

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. (With links to full-text where available.)

Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. Combines deep background from scholarly sources with expert commentary from a range of organizations, agencies, and publishers and reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social, and technical spectrum.

Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes CountryWatch's Country Review.

Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 62 collections.

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.

Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.

Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, providing information on member countries economics, politics, and international affairs. Publications includes data from IEA, country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files.

Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.

Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.

Apps for mobile devices. The Public Sector Debt Statistics (PSD) database, jointly developed by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, brings together detailed quarterly public sector debt data of selected countries, initially mainly developing /emerging market economies. The database facilitates timely dissemination in standard formats of public sector debt data, to support macroeconomic analysis and cross-country comparison.

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).

Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields.