Skip to main content

Japan Studies: Home

This guide will provide help on locating both electronic and print resources related to Japan studies.

Quick Links

Recent Faculty Book Publication

About GW Okinawa Collection

GW Okinawa Collection builds on the existing collection in the the Japan Resource Center and features scholarly materials that explore Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives. Established in June 2015, the Okinawa Collection is a collaboration between the Okinawa Prefectural Government and GW Gelman Library. Generously funded by the Okinawa Government, the Okinawa Collection features scholarly materials on Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives. 

On our new GW Okinawa Collection homepage,  the following research guides are available for more Okinawa-related topics:

You also can find out Guide to Locating Japanese & Okinawa-related Resources, Okinawa Collection Recent Acquisition, Events & News, Contact Us fom and more.

About Japan Resource Center

Japan Resource Center

The Japan Resource Center (JRC) was established in 2005 to provide support for advanced study on Japan to the GW community, especially those at the Elliot School of International Affairs, and to researchers in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. The scope of the JRC's collection includes the history, politics, economy, public policy, national security, culture, and foreign relations of Japan after the Meiji Restoration (1868), with an emphasis upon the 20th century, in accordance with the academic focus of the Elliott School. The collection format consists of monographs, periodicals, newspapers, reference materials, and databases.

Materials to learn Japanese Language

Do you want to brush up your Japanese? Are you thinking to take an exit exam in Japanese?

Check the Japanese Language Study Library Guide.

Subject Guide

Global Resources Center GRC's picture
Global Resources Center GRC
Contact:
Global Resources Center
Gelman Library
2130 H Street, NW
Suite 708
Washington, DC 20052
202-994-7105
Website / Blog Page

Hours of service

Fall and Spring Semesters
Mon. - Thurs.   10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Fri.                     10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sat. & Sun.       11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Summer Semester
Mon. - Thurs.   12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Fri.                     12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Sun.                   12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Holiday and intersession hours may vary.
Please call (202) 994-7105 or visit Hours for the hours of the Gelman Library, the Global Resources Center.
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu