Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan Studies: Home

This guide will provide help on locating both electronic and print resources related to Japan studies.

About Okinawa Collection/Japan Resource Center

The Japan Resource Center (JRC) was established in 2005 to provide support for advanced study on Japan to the GW community, especially those at the Elliot School of International Affairs, and to researchers in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. The scope of the JRC's collection includes the history, politics, economy, public policy, national security, culture, and foreign relations of Japan after the Meiji Restoration (1868), with an emphasis upon the 20th century, in accordance with the academic focus of the Elliott School. The collection format consists of monographs, periodicals, newspapers, reference materials, and databases.

About Okinawa Collection/Japan Resource CenterGW Okinawa Collection builds on the existing collection in the the Japan Resource Center and features scholarly materials that explore Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives. Established in June 2015, the Okinawa Collection is a collaboration between the Okinawa Prefectural Government and GW Gelman Library. Generously funded by the Okinawa Government, the Okinawa Collection features scholarly materials on Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives.

Recent Faculty Journal Publication

Recent Faculty Book Publication

This item is available at Japan Resource Center on the 7th Floor of Gelman Library.

Questions?

Contact:

Gelman Library, Suite 708
2130 H Street, NW
Washington, DC 20052
Email: satom@gwu.edu (Mitsuyo Sato)

Related Research Guides

Related Research Guides

Japan Studies Guide Brochure

Japan Studies-related DVDs with PPR (Public Performance Rights)

Materials to learn Japanese Language

Do you want to brush up on your Japanese? Are you thinking of taking an exit exam in Japanese?

Check the Japanese Language Study Library Guide.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu