It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interested in understanding of issues on Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Gender in Japan?
Satoko and Nada (Graphic novel)
"Satoko, a Japanese student studying in America, has a new roommate: a Saudi Arabian woman named Nada! They might have different customs, but through mutual respect--and the hilarious adventures of their daily life--Satoko and Nada prove that friendship knows no borders." -- Page  of cover.
Women and politics in contemporary Japan
"This book looks at the gendering of the political system in Japan, and the effects of that system on gender equality in parliamentary politics specifically and society more generally." -- Provided by publisher
Edges of the rainbow : LGBTQ Japan
"An intimate photographic glimpse into the queer world behind the closed doors of modern Japanese society" -- Provided by publisher.
Japan's Secret Shame (Documentary)
This is a story of Ms. Shiori Ito, a 29-year-old Japanese journalist went public in 2017 that she was allegedly raped by a high-profile journalist who is a biographer of Japan's Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.
Black Box, Shiori Ito's account of seeking justice after sexual assault, ushered in the #MeToo movement in Japan.
I Hear the Sunspot (Graphic novel)
Two young men, one with a hearing disability, and the other, a brash interloper who agrees to take notes for this classmate in college in exchange for a boxed lunch. Journey of the two emotional development.
Minorities and Diversity
This book discusses the status of women in Japan in relation to marriage and single motherhood, gendered roles and norms in the early modern period, the Japanese American reparation movement, mutual aid in Okinawa, etc.
Queer Voices from Japan
Essays in this book "trace the evolution of queer voices in Japan with analyses of the presence of homosexuality in the Japanese Imperial Army, the development of Japan's first gay bars, and same-sex experiences in the pre- and post-war periods." --Publisher's descriptions.
Hafu ハーフ (Documentary)
“Hafu” is the unfolding journey of discovery into the intricacies of mixed-race Japanese and their multicultural experience in modern day Japan. --Publisher's synopsis.
Have you heared the word AmerAsian (アメラジアン)? Please visit Diaspora section of the Okinawa Collection Recent Acquisition guide.
Career Women in Contemporary Japan: Pursuing Identities, Fashioning Lives
"This book examines what motivates Japanese women to pursue professional careers in the contemporary neoliberal economy, and how they reconfigure notions of selfhood while doing so." -- Publisher's descriptions.
My brother's husband (Graphic novel)
Yaichi, a work-at-home suburban dad in Tokyo, and his daughter Kana, are suddenly upended with the arrival at their doorstep of a hulking, affable Canadian named Mike Flanagan, who declares himself the widower of Yaichi's estranged gay twin, Ryoji. What follows is an unprecedented and journey into the largely still-closeted Japanese gay culture..-- Provided by publisher.
Manga girl seeks herbivore boy : studying Japanese gender at Cambridge
Essays about gendered images, identities and life-styles in contemporary Japan.
Linguistic stereotyping and minority groups in Japan
The text presents a revealing examination of the discriminatory language, known as sabetsu yogo, as identified by five minority groups, the Burakumin, the Ainu, people with physical or mental disabilities, women and ethnic groups within Japan -- Publisher's description
Night in the American village: women in the shadow of the U.S. military bases in Okinawa
"Focusing on the women there (=Okinawa)," the author "follows the complex fallout of the murder of an Okinawan woman by an ex–U.S. serviceman in 2016 and speaks to protesters, to women who date and marry American men and groups that help them when problems arise."--Excerpt from publisher's description
For more books on gender issues in Okinawa, please visit Gender Issues on the Okinawa Collection Recent Acquisition guide.
Re-reading the salaryman in Japan : crafting masculinities
This book uses the figure of the suited white-collar office worker, ‘salaryman’ to explore masculinity in Japan by examining the salaryman as a gendered construct. --Excerpt from publisher’s description
Diversity in Japanese culture and language
Drawing from multiple disciplines, this book challenges the notion of Japanese uniqueness by exploring cultural and language diversity in Japan.
Disability in Japan
"Disability and chronic illness represents a special kind of cultural diversity, the 'other' to 'normal"' able-bodiedness. Most studies of disability consider disability in North American or European contexts; and studies of diversity in Japan consider ethnic and cultural diversity, but not the differences arising from disability." --From the publisher's description
Redefining Japaneseness : Japanese Americans in the ancestral homeland
"Redefining Japaneseness chronicles how Japanese American migrants to Japan navigate and complicate the categories of Japanese and 'foreigner.'"
--Excerpt from publisher's description
Japan's minorities : the illusion of homogeneity
"Japan's Minorities addresses a broad range of issues associated with the six principal minority groups in Japan: Ainu, Burakumin, Chinese, Koreans, Nikkeijin, and Okinawans."--From publisher's description
Importing diversity: Inside Japan's JET Program
"In this balanced study of the JET program, David L. McConnell draws on ten years of ethnographic research to explore the cultural and political dynamics of internationalization in Japan." --Excerpt from publisher's description
Cultural and social division in contemporary Japan : rethinking discourses of inclusion and exclusion
"This book explores not only how Japanese society is diversified and unequal, but also how diversity and inequality have caused people to divide into separate realities from which conflict and violence have emerged."--Provided by publisher
Genders, transgenders, and sexualities in Japan
"Incorporating Japanese language materials and field-based research, this compelling collection of essays takes a comparative look at the changing notions of gender and sexual diversity in Japan, considering both heterosexual and non-heterosexual histories, lifestyles and identities."--From publisher's description
Transcultural Japan at the borderlands of race, gender, and identity
"Transcultural Japan provides a critical examination of being Other in Japan. Portraying the multiple intersection of race, ethnicity, class, and gender, the book suggests ways in which the transcultural borderlands of Japan reflect globalization in this island nation." --From the publisher's description
Migrants and identity in Japan and Brazil the Nikkeijin"
"This title examines the relationship between the Nikkei migrants and the Japanese related to the emerging diversity of society." --From the publisher's description
Minorities and education in multicultural Japan an interactive perspective
This book examines multiculturalism in Japan on minority children and their peers. The authors also look at how the education system is incorporating multiculturalism to provide minority students with better access to opportunities.--Summarized from the publisher's description
日本史の脫領域 - 多様性へのアプローチ
Area of History: Approach to Diversity
"This book introduces the latest multifaceted Japanese history and historical epistemologies without being bound by conventional frameworks." The book is in Japanese. --Translation of publisher's description
Rethinking Japanese feminisms
Rethinking Japanese Feminisms discusses diversity within Japanese feminist thought explored through a range of disciplines, including anthropology, political science, literature, and more.
The Fabric of Indigeneity: Ainu Identity, Gender, and Settler Colonialism in Japan
"The author synthesizes ethnographic field research, museum and archival research, and participation in cultural-revival and rights-based organizing to show how women craft Ainu and indigenous identities through clothwork and how they also fashion lived connections to ancestral values and lifestyles." --Excerpted from the publisher's description
Dilemmas of Adulthood : Japanese Women and the Nuances of Long-Term Resistance
Through interviewing Japanese women over a 10-year period, Nancy Rosenberger explores "long-term resistance" in modern Japan, operationalized as punctuated shifts in gendered social norms.
Gender and career in Japan
Using a multidisciplinary approach including sociology, psychology, and economics, Gender and Career in Japan explores gender norms in career and life paths.
Trans-Pacific Japanese American Studies: Conversations on Race and Racializations
"Trans-Pacific Japanese American Studies is a unique collection of essays derived from a series of dialogues held in Tokyo, Kyoto, and Los Angeles on the issues of racializations, gender, communities, and the positionalities of scholars involved in Japanese American studies." --From the publisher's description
Gendered trajectories : women, work, and social change in Japan and Taiwan
"This work explores why industrial societies vary in the pace at which they reduce gender inequality and compares changes in women's employment opportunities in Japan and Taiwan over the last half-century."--Publisher's description
Gender struggles : wage-earning women and male-dominated unions in postwar Japan
This book explores the role unions played in creating the middle-class housewife in Japan, missing an opportunity to join grassroots and local social movements led by women.
Manbiki kazoku (Shoplifters) (Film)
"On the margins of Tokyo, a dysfunctional band of outsiders are united by fierce loyalty, a penchant for petty theft and playful grifting. When the young son is arrested, secrets are exposed that upend their tenuous, below-the-radar existence. . ."--Description from film website; film poster from IMBD
あん--Sweet Bean (Film)
A dorayaki baker hires a 76-year-old assistant with a secret recipe, his shop is transformed, but the discrimination she faces due to Hansen's disease (leprosy) threatens his thriving business and her acceptance in society.
Interested in leprosy issues in Okinawa? Visit Public Health section of the Okinawa Collection Recent Acquisition guide.
Goze: women, musical performance, and visual; disability in traditional Japan
Goze were visually impaired female musicians who organized into guilds during the Edo Period. They made great musical contributions to Japan's rural communities, which this book explores.
A disability of the soul: an ethnography of schizophrenia and mental illness in contemporary Japan
Disability of the Soul is based on Karen Nakamura's ethnographic research on Bethel House, an international community created in a small fishing town to enhance local economic conditions and aid participants' recoveries from schizophrenia and other mental illnesses.
Capturing Contemporary Japan : Differentiation and Uncertainty
This volume covers a wide-range of social topics and includes voices from diverse groups, including women, the disabled, the elderly, and many others from different walks of life.
Queer Japan: From the Pacific War to the Internet Age
"This volume, with its combination of fieldwork in the gay and lesbian communities and the use of historical sources such as journals and documents, breaks important new ground in this field."--Excerpted from publishers description
Queer Japanese : gender and sexual identities through linguistic practices
"Abe presents a comprehensive picture of the linguistic strategies employed by Japanese sexual minorities in various social contexts, from magazine advice columns to bars to text messaging on cell phones to private homes."--Publisher's description
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. Is is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.