Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Aozora Bunko / 青空文庫
Free database of a collection of Japanese literary works (in public domain). Search and download are available.
Japan Knowledge (ジャパンナレッジ)
Japan Knowledge is one of the largest collections of resources about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (Illustrated), English-Japanese dictionaries and full text books. Simultaneous Users: 1
Ebrary offers full-text searching and online access to approximately 20,000 academic books in business & economics, computers/technology/engineering, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences. The collection also includes over 1050 maps. The text is mainly in English.
J-TEXTS / 日本文学図書館
Offers Japanese literature in public domain for academic use.
Japan P.E.N. Club Digital Library / 電子文藝館
Contains copyrighted literary works with the permission of the copyright holders of each work. Japan P.E.N. Club is an international association of Japanese writers.
Japanese Text Initiative
The Japanese Text Initiative (JTI) intends to put online on the Web texts of classical Japanese literature in Japanese characters. Where possible, the Japanese texts will be accompanied by English translations.
Nihon Koten Bungaku Honbun Database / 日本古典文学本文データベース
National Institute of Japanese Literature has created a database of the previous edition of "Nihon Koten Bungaku Taikei / 日本古典文学大系" by Iwanami Shoten. Selected works from 100 volumes are searchable and displayable.
You need to register to access.
Toyo Bunko (The Oriental Library Series) / 東洋文庫
Toyo Bunko Books is a collection of Oriental classics worthy of the name “great Asian books,” which are frequently quoted as primary sources by researchers.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
500 books are available for the public.
Universal Digital Library
All the significant literary, artistic, and scientific works of mankind can be digitally preserved and made freely available, in every corner of the world.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. See also World Bank
for additional access to free WorldBank publications. Coverage: includes all official World Bank publications back to 2000.
Academic Search Complete
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Book Review Guide b / ブックレビューガイドb
Includes events and awards related to books.
Book Review Search Engine / 書評・ブックレビュー検索エンジン
Cross-searchable database for book reviews published in newspapers, magazines and Internet book stores.
ProQuest Research Library Plus
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.