Research Guides: HIST 3601.10 (Spring 2020) Empires and Legacies Northeast Asia: Russia, China, Japan: Home

First Sino-Japanese War / Chino-Japanese War (1894-1895)

Books/Articles Resources on 1st Sino-Japanese War

Parties Out of Power in Japan, 1931-1941 by Gordon Mark Berger
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DS 765 .M8913 1982
ISBN: 0691031061
Publication Date: 1977-03-21
You can view the original draft at the National Diet Library of Japan Digital Collection (Japanese only).
Under the Dragon Flag: My Experiences in the Chino-Japanese War by James Allan
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Please use the Consortium Loan Service.
ISBN: 0469091541
Publication Date: 2019-02-21
The China-Japan War by Vladimir
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Visit HathiTrust Digital Library for similar contents.
ISBN: 1163509434
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Documentary History of the Peace Negotiations between China and Japan, March-April, 1895 by China Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Visit HathiTrust Digital Library for similar contents.
ISBN: 0343393662
Publication Date: 1895

Open-Access E-Resources for the first Sino-Japanese War

The Sino-Japanese War of 1894-1895
A web exhibition curated by the Japan Center for Asian Historical Records and the British Library. The exhibition offers historical background on the war supported by archival documents. Please note the archival documents are only in Japanese.
Throwing Off Asia II: Woodblock Prints of the Sino-Japanese War (1894-1895)
A visual gallery featuring woodblock prints depicting the first Sino-Japanese War. The website also features an essay by John Dower, explaining some of the prints. Created by MIT Visualizing Cultures.
Chronicling America
Administered by the Library of Congress. A good source for American newspapers and their reporting on world events from 1789-1963. There are a number of digitized articles on Japan, the first and second Sino-Japanese Wars and the Russo-Japanese War.

Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905)

Books/Articles Resources for Russo-Japanese War

A Modern Campaign; or, War and Wireless Telegraphy in the Far East by David Fraser
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Visit HathiTrust Digital Library for similar contents.
ISBN: 1297898605
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
The Battle of Tsu-Shima, Between the Japanese and Russian Fleets, Fought on 27th May 1905 by Vladimïr Ivanovich Semenov; Alexander Bertram Lindsay; George Sydenham Sir Clarke
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Visit HathiTrust Digital Library for similar contents.
ISBN: 0530829037
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
A Diary of the Russo-Japanese War, Vol. 2 by Unknown Author
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0331839938
Publication Date: 2017-11-24
The McCully Report on the Russo-Japanese War by Newton A. McCully
ISBN: 0870213717
Publication Date: 1977
Human Bullets (Niku-Dan). a Soldier's Story of Port Arthur. with an Introd. by Count Okuma. Translat by Tadayoshi Sakurai
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0526958324
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
An Eye-witness in Manchuria by Leopold Guy Francis Brooke
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Visit HathiTrust Digital LIbrary for similar contents.
ISBN: 1241091560
Publication Date: 2011-02-01

Open-Access E-resources for Russo-Japanese War

Jack London at Utah State University: Russo-Japanese War
- Excerpts of Jack London's Russo-Japanese War notebook
- Part of Jack and Charmian London Correspondence and Papers at USU.
Battle of Mukden (1905) - Animated Battle Map

The animation overs the movements of the Japanese and Russian troops during the Battle of Mukden, January 26 through March 10, 1905.

Second Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945)

Books/Articles Resources for the Second Sino-Japanese War

Chinese Comfort Women : Testimonies from Imperial Japan's Sex Slaves by Peipei Qiu, Su Zhiliang, Chen Lifei
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780774825467
Publication Date: 2014
China Reporting: An Oral History of American Journalism in the 1930s and 1940s by Stephen R. MacKinnon; Oris Friesen
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DS 777.533 .P825 U65 1987
ISBN: 0520058437
Publication Date: 1987
The Second Sino-Japanese War and national mobilization: the issue of rallying soldiers and personal experiences of the battlefield by Yoshiaki, Yoshimi
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Available Onlie
Publication Date: Japan Forum, 06 February 2012, Vol.24(1), pp.119-130

Open-Access E-Resources for Second Sino-Japanese War

The Nanking Massacre Archival Project, Yale University
A Digital Archive of Documents (letters & diaries) & Photographs from ten American Missionaries Who Witnessed the Rape of Nanking.
ChinesePosters.Net
A collection of Chinese anti-Japanese propaganda posters during the 2nd Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945). The website also features many other propaganda posters from different periods in Chinese history. Managed by Stichting Chinese Posters (Chinese Posters Foundation).

Useful Databases

ProQuest Central

Multidisciplinary database covering both scholarly sources and popular content. Includes the contents of ProQuest Research Library, ABI-Inform, and U.S. and International Newsstreams, as well as various ProQuest disciplinary collections.

New York Times (Historical)

Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.

Washington Post (Historical,1877-1999)

Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.

Historical Newspapers

Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlantic Constitution (1868-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1993), Korea Times (1956-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), The New York Times (1851-2013), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and The Washington Post (1877-2000).

Japan Times Digital Archive

Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper. Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2018.

HIST 3601.10 (Spring 2020) Empires and Legacies Northeast Asia: Russia, China, Japan: Home

Japan Studies Research Guide