Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Direction of Trade Statistics
Presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund, current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Data is available from 1980 onwards for annuals/quarters and months. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well. Simultaneous users: 5
Premier source for economic literature in scholarly journals (including book reviews), books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and more. Published by the American Economic Association.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Provides political, economic, and business information on countries. Generally, the best way to use the database is to select country report under My Reports and Services and then select the country from the list that is then displayed.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
Hoover's Company Records
Proprietary information on more than 40,000 public and non-public companies.
Industry and Economy Journal Database (產經期刊全文資料庫)
Contains 10 periodicals and reports published in Taiwan, including Taiwan Economic Research Monthly, Annual Survey on Economic Trends, APEC Newsletter and Research Reports. The database features domestic and overseas economic situation and trends, in-depth analyses on substantial industrial and economic issues, and informative research reports.
Investext (Mergent Online)
Investext, now available through Mergent Online, provides the full text of stock brokerage reports on individual companies and on industries.
Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, providing information on member countries economics, politics, and international affairs. Publications includes data from IEA, country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files.
Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists.
Passport (formerly called Global Market Information Database) provides international market intelligence for countries, consumers and industries. Please note: All access to this database is restricted to GW students, faculty and staff who will have to login - even on campus. Walk-in use by others is not permitted.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
(Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical.) ProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to statistics on a wide variety of topics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental and international organizations.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)
Published since 1878, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database includes editions through 2012; for later editions, see the ProQuest version.
UNCTADstat is a free database of statistics produced by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). It incorporates all of UNCTAD's online statistical databases, including both current and historical data. Topics covered include population and labor forces; economic trends; foreign direct investment; commodity prices; and many more.