Research Guides: Okinawa Studies Research Guide: Environment Issues

National & Prefectural Parks in Okinawa

National Parks in Okinawa / 沖縄県の自然公園

Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park / 西表石垣国立公園
Keramashoto National Park / 慶良間諸島国立公園
Yambaru National Park / やんばる国立公園
Okinawa Kaigan Quasi-National Park / 沖縄海岸国定公園
Okinawa Senseki Quasi-National Park / 沖縄戦跡国定公園

Prefectural Parks in Okinawa / 沖縄県の県立公園

Kumejima Prefectural Park / 久米島県立自然公園
Irabu Prefectural Park / 伊良部県立自然公園
Tonaki Prefectural Park / 渡名喜県立自然公園
Tarama Prefectural Park / 多良間県立自然公園

GW-Subscribed Databases (Login Required)

Japanese Newspapers

Asahi Shimbun Onrain Kiji Detabesu (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) This link opens in a new window Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
Japan Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2020.
Nikkei Telecom21 (日経テレコン21) This link opens in a new window Major database from Japan focusing on business and economics. Some titles available from 1876. Content in Japanese from a wide variety of national, local and technical newspapers, statistical and corporate sources. Content in English is from major Nikkei publications and national newspapers (Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi) as well as from major newspapers in Singapore (The Straits Times, The Business Times), Malaysia (New Straits Times, Business Times Malaysia, Bernama News), Indonesia (The Jakarta Post, Antara News), Vietnam (Viet Nam News), Thailand (Bangkok Post), Mongolia (Montsame Daily News), Taiwan (Want China Times, Focus Taiwan), China (People’s Daily Online) and Korea (Maeil Business Newspaper, Korea JoongAng Daily) among others.
Okinawa Times This link opens in a new window NOTE: for off-campus access, log into the GW VPN.
Ryukyu Shimpo This link opens in a new window
Yomiuri Online (Yomidas Rekishikan) This link opens in a new window Full-text of the Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to present, the Daily Yomiuri & its English equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Full-text searching is available from Sept. 1986 to present. NOTE: for off-campus access, log into the GW VPN.

Environment-Related

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. Coverage: 1960-current.
BioOne This link opens in a new window Access to scholarly journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. A joint project by SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), and other partners.
ClimateWire This link opens in a new window Monitors information on all matters related to climate change and its effects on business, the environment and society.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of Gale primary source collections.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window Available through Engineering Village. GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.

Online Open-Access Resources

Ecologist
- British environmental magazine that addresses a wide range of environmental subjects and promote ecological systems
- Published in papers from 1970 to 2009 and online since 2009
Civilian Exposure
- Subtitle of this online magazine "Building awareness, Accountability & Assistance to People Exposed to Toxic Contamination Aboard U.S. Military Installations"
- Researches focus on all kinds of contaminations
- One of their research categories is focus on Okinawa as a military contamination site. Some of the articles are reported by Mr. Jon Mitchell, a British journalist. See his FOIA documents collection donated to GW Okinawa Collection
Environmental Health
- Manuscripts on all aspects of environmental and occupational medicine and related studies in toxicology and epidemiology

・Documentary film "Our Island's Treasure"

This film focuses on the current destruction of the beautiful Okinawan ocean in Henoko and the fight by the native Uchinanchu people to protect it. This is an emergency. ~ by Kaiya Yonamine ~ (Uploaded with Ms. Yonamine's permission)

Okinawa Studies Research Guide: Environment Issues

What This Guide Can Offer You

The Okinawa Environmental Issues Guide has three pages:

National & Prefectural Parks in Okinawa

GW-Subscribed Databases (Login Required)

Japanese Newspapers

Environment-Related

Online Open-Access Resources