Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About GW Okinawa Collection
GW Okinawa Collection builds on the existing collection in the the Japan Resource Center and features scholarly materials that explore Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives. Established in June 2015, the Okinawa Collection is a collaboration between the Okinawa Prefectural Government and GW Gelman Library. Generously funded by the Okinawa Government, the Okinawa Collection features scholarly materials on Okinawa from the past to the present from multiple perspectives.
The Collection includes the following topics:
- Arts (Performing, Visual and Martial)
- Battle of Okinawa
- New! Folktales
- Gender Issues
- Graphic Novels (Manga)/Pictorial books
- Okinawa/Ryukyuan Cuisine & History
- Peace Studies (coming soon)
- Prominent Okinawans
- Public Health
- Senkaku Islands
- U.S. Military Base Issues
GW-subscribed Databases (Login required)
Asian Studies Databases (including general databases with Asia-focused content)
Asia Pacific (Reference Corporation World Area Studies)
Provides area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Northeast Asia and Asia-Pacific.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Citations to scholarly journal articles and monographs relating to all areas of Asia. Western-language materials.
Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, CiNii enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic journals, university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources.
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1941-1996)
United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
Japan Knowledge (ジャパンナレッジ)
One of the largest collections of resources about Japan.
To see more databases on Asian studies, please visit the Global Resources Comprehensive database Guide on Asia.
Visit the Global Resource Center (GRC)
Online Research Guides on Okinawa
GW-subscribed Newspaper Databases (Login required)
(Please log out when finished.)
Asahi Shimbun Onrain Kiji Detabesu (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース)
One of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. Available in English.
Japan Times Digital Archive
Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2018. Available in English.
Mainichi Shimbun (Maisaku)
Provides access to 6 million articles from the Mainichi Shimbun and precursor titles from 1872. Available in English.
Nikkei Telecom21 (日経テレコン21)
Major database from Japan focusing on business and economics. Content in English is from major Nikkei publications and national newspapers as well as from major newspapers in Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand, Mongolia, Taiwan, China and Korea among others. Available in English.
Provides access to the full-text of the Okinawa Times and its archive.
One of the largest and oldest newspapers in Okinawa. NOTE: This site currently only works with Firefox.
Yomiuri Online (Yomidas Rekishikan)
Full-text of the Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to present, the Daily Yomiuri & its English equivalent. Available in English.