Research Guides: Okinawa Studies Research Guide: Gender/Women's Rights

Okinawan Women's Groups

The resources featured here are nonprofit or nongovernmental organizations that focus on Okinawa women's issues. Some of these organizations may be linked to governmental agencies.

East Asia-U.S.-Puerto Rico Women's Network against Militarism
Transnational women's group that focuses on information sharing and consciousness-raising regarding the impact of militarism on communities.
Human Rights Watch
Provides information about human rights issues and activism. This is link goes directly to the Japan page.
International Women's Network Against Militarism
This international network focuses on anti-militarism in several countries, including Japan (Okinawa). The Women for Genuine Security is also part of the International Women's Network Against Militarism.
The Okinawa Gender Equality Center (Tiruru) | 沖縄県男女共同参画センター (てぃるる）
The Okinawa Gender Equality Center, or Tiruru, is described as a "base" for a gender-equal society in Okinawa. The center provides a space for activities and events to promote gender equality and disseminates research. This site is in Japanese.
Okinawa International Women's Club
This nonprofit is an international friendship organization whose members enjoy activities, charity events, and other cultural exchanges.
Okinawa Peace Network - Los Angeles (OPN - LA)
An anti-militarism organization based in Los Angeles. They occasionally cover gender issues.
more...less...
Partners include Okinawa Peace Network-San Francisco and Okinawa Peace Network-Boston (no links)
Okinawa Wings | 沖縄県女性の翼
Nonprofit committed to promoted gender equality in Okinawa with activities including leadership training, seminars, fundraising,
more...less...
international exchange, and information exchange. This site is in Japanese.
Okinawa Women Act Against Military Violence
The Okinawa Women Act Against Military Violence organization was founded in 1995 by Suzuyo Takazato following the rape of
more...less...
a 12 year old girl by three U.S. servicemen. The group does not have a website, but their information is featured by their partner, Women for Genuine Security.
Okinawa Women's Group Liaison Council | 沖縄県女性団体連絡協議会
No website is available. The link takes you to telephone, address, and direction information.
Okinawa Women's Researcher Association | 沖縄女性研究者の会
There is no website for the Okinawa Women's Researcher Association. However, they recently published
more...less...
the book：「沖縄女性研究者 : 未来を象る沖縄女性研究者の会20年の躍動」(Okinawa Women Researchers: 20 Years of Okinawa Women Researchers' Association for the Future).
Okinawa Women's Foundation | 公益財団法人おきなわ女性財団
The Okinawa Women's Foundation is the prefectural women's group liaison connecting national, prefectural, municipal, NGO, and
more...less...
business organizations and resources. The foundation also created Tiruru, the Okinawa Gender Equality Center. This site is in Japanese.
Rainbow Alliance Okinawa
Nonprofit organization focusing on LGBTQ issues in Okinawa. Site is in Japanese.
REICO
REICO is an organization providing services to survivors of sexual violence. REICO stands for Rape Emergency Intervention Counseling Okinawa. This site is in Japanese.
Wadachi Lab
Wadachi Lab is a nonprofit organization providing human resources development, training, and career counseling and
more...less...
coaching, for women's advancement in Okinawa Prefecture. This site is in Japanese.
Women for Genuine Security
NGO that is part of the International Women's Network Against Militarism.
Women In and Beyond the Global
Women In and Beyond the Global is a U.S. based feminist forum comprised of scholars, librarians, and activists who
more...less...
want to " transform relationships among digital media, gender and democracy." Although globally focused, they feature topics on Japan and Okinawa.

Government and Prefectural Resources

This list contains links to government sources. It includes Japanese national and municipal government links as well as U.S. sources.

Children's Life, Welfare Department, and Women's Power and Peace Promotion Division | 子ども生活福祉部女性力・平和推進課／沖縄県
The Okinawa prefectural government page providing notices and materials regarding gender equality, domestic violence, sexual violence, and human rights. The site is in Japanese.
Gender Equality Bureau Cabinet Office | 男女共同参画局 (National)
The Gender Equality Bureau Cabinet Office provides information on gender equality. The site contains laws and policies, basic plans, white papers, data, international cooperation partnerships, and promotional information. The site is available in Japanese and English.
Office of Global Women's Issues | U.S. Department of State
The Office of Global Women's Issues promotes women's rights and empowerment in U.S. foreign policy. Their site features sections on women's economic empowerment; women, peace, and security; and cross-cutting issues.

Open-Access Databases

Database of Companies Promoting the Active Participation of Women | 女性の活躍推進企業データベース
Japanese government database provides self-disclosed data detailing how companies are complying with the Women's Advancement Promotion Law. The site is available in Japanese and English.
National Diet Library | 国立国会図書館
This resource guide provided by the National Diet Library supplies gender data, statistics, and reports. Site is in Japanese.
National Institute of Population and Social Security Research
National Women's Education Center-Statistical Database on Men and Women | 男女共同参画社会「女性と男性に関する統計データベース」
This website offers comprehensive data sets spanning several categories and years. This includes Winet, literature database, disaster recovery, women's archives, information systems, mini-communications, and information for women overseas.
University of the Ryukyus Online Public Catalog | 琉球大学附属図書館
World Bank Gender Data Portal
Provides various types of data on women's and gender issues, including raw data, data visualization, and dashboards.

GW-Subscribed Databases (login required)

Recent Acquisitions

Recent acquisition on gender issues in OKinawa

Check Okinawa Collection Recent Acquisitions on gender Issues in Okinawa.

Women's Research Institutes

These university research institutes study women's issues. Covering a wide array of issues, these institutes include research, publications, lectures, or events on Okinawan women's and gender issues in their catalog or history.

Aichi Shukutoku University Institute of Gender and Women's Studies　｜愛知淑徳大学ジェンダー・女性学研究所
- Most of the pages are also vailable in English.
more...less...
This institute focuses on women's advancement by studying gender equality, human rights, and discrimination.
The Fukuoka Women's University Regional Collaboration Center Women's Lifelong Learning Research Division　｜福岡女子大学　地域連携センター女性生涯学習研究部門
Devoted to lifelong learning, this center focuses on producing gender literature, disseminating it to the public, and holding seminars.
Hitotsubashi University Gender Social Science Research Center　｜　一橋大学 | ジェンダー社会科学研究センター
The institute promotes interdisciplinary research on gender studies and engages in cultural exchange. The also offer gender studies courses and hold lectures and workshops.
International Christian University Gender Research Center　｜国際基督教大学ジェンダー研究センター
The Gender Studies Center provides a number of resources and publishes the Gender Studies Center (GSC) Journal. The site is also available in English.
Josai International University Gender and Women's Research Institute　｜城西国際大学ジェンダー・女性学研究所
Publishes the journal RIM. The institute features a graduate program, activities, and books. Site is in Japanese.
Kobe College Women's Studies Institute　｜神戸女学院大学女性学インスティチュート
The institute publishes the Kobe College International Exchange Center and Women's Studies Review. They provide a range of
more...less...
activities including on-campus research support, seminars, and reports. Site is in Japanese.
Nara Women's University Center for Asian and Women's Studies　｜奈良女子大学アジア・ジェンダー文化学研究センター
This center focuses on gender issues in Asia. They publish newsletters and a center journal call Asian Gender Culture Research. Site is also available in English.
Ochanomizu University Institute for Gender Studies ｜お茶の水女子大学ジェンダー研究所
Publishes periodicals including Gender Studies, IGS Project Series, and IGS Business Report. Site is also available in English.
Waseda University | Gender Studies Institute | 早稲田大学総合研究機構ジェンダー研究所
The Waseda University Gender Studies Institute publishes bulletins, hosts seminars, and programs.
Ritsumeikan University Research Study Groups | 立命館大学国際言語文化研究所
Beyond gender, this institute focuses on culture broadly and provides a number of bulletins, events, and talks.
Showa Women's University Institute for Women's Culture ｜昭和女子大学女性文化研究所
Publishes Women's Cultural Studies series and bulletins. Presents research in a number formats including working papers and student research.
Tenri Gender and Women's Studies Laboratory　｜天理大学｜天理ジェンダー・女性学研究室
This institute focuses on gender and religion in Asia.
Tokyo Women's Christian University Institute of Women's Studies | 東京女子大学女性学研究所
The institutes publishes "Project Research Report" and the "Annual Report of the Institute for Women's Studies" periodicals and supports individual research.
University of the Ryukyus Research Institute for Istands and Sustainability | 琉球大学島嶼地域科学研究所
For their publications on gender issues in Okinawa, please check this publication page.