Central Asia: Databases

Declassified Documents Reference System, now U.S. Declassified Documents Online, provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries.

Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

Current indexing and abstracting of the world's leading journals in political science. Simultaneous users: 8

Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. Combines deep background from scholarly sources with expert commentary from a range of organizations, agencies, and publishers and reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social, and technical spectrum.

This database has been replaced by Nexis Uni.

Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes CountryWatch's Country Review.

Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.

mobile version available. Access to the OCLC online union catalog. Includes library holdings from across the United States and around the world. NEW: try the next generation of WorldCat and FirstSearch.

Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.

Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields.

Contains information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Includes citations ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to ones accepted as recently as last semester. Of over 1.5 million titles listed, Proquest offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the citation includes the Proquest order number.

Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields. To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add us.

A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is an authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. Includes access to the First, Second and Third Editions, the Second Edition Glossary, and the Historical Atlas of Islam.

The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting research on gender studies and the Islamic world. Useful for researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. (With links to full-text where available.)

Bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

Provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Includes also several English-language newspapers such as the Moscow Times.

Provides detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories. This resource also provides analytical essays on the following regions: Africa South of the Sahara Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australasia, The Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, The USA and Canada, and Western Europe.

Includes over 200 titles, updated regularly, in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

This collection includes online encyclopedias from a variety of disciplines, primarily in the social sciences.

The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6

A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.

Includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources and from all branches of the armed forces. Includes both Russian and English language sources. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions.

Access to Russian newspapers, military periodicals, and parliamentary publications.

Covers Russian and English publications, reports and data sets from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Covers scholarship in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe: books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Materials in English, Russian, and other languages.

Provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Includes also several English-language newspapers such as the Moscow Times.

Presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation including Northern Caucasus, Western Siberia, the Volga region, and many others. Also provides coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The list of titles will continue to be expanded.