Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GRC Central Asia Collection
The GRC maintains a collection of many historical and contemporary print maps and atlases of the region. These resources are available for use within the library only. The GRC is located in Gelman Library, suite 708.
Online Maps & Atlases of Central Asia
Russia & Former Soviet Union
The University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection features hundreds of country, city, detailed, thematic and historical maps produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
The University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection features hundreds of country, city, detailed, thematic and historical maps of Afghanistan produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Cyrillic Map Collection
Indiana University's collection of Soviet-era maps.
Digital Silk Road
Historical maps along the Old Silk Road.
In Russian. Contains many maps, including the region.
Berlin collection of Mongolian manuscript maps from the late Qing period. In German.
Government issued maps
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
This is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Includes a variety of CIA maps, including the Central Asia.
Online World Maps & Atlases
CIA: The World Fact Book
Offers maps of the worlds by regions.
Lets you fly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, from galaxies in outer space to the canyons of the ocean.
MapQuest: World Atlas
World map by MapQuest.
U.S. Geological Survey
Provides maps range from detailed local areas to the world. Because they can show many kinds of information, they are excellent for a wide range of uses, including emergency response, outdoor recreation, scientific research, and resource management.
United Nations : Map Library
Map Collection holds over 80,000 maps, some 3,000 atlases, gazetteers, travel guides, reference works and digital products.
Provides world atlas and the list of of continents, countries, dependencies, islands, territories, lakes, rivers, seas, oceans, mountains, and the highest, lowest, biggest, smallest, tallest, deepest, oldest, youngest places on the planet.