Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with high regional content
Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine
Includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union and the Baltics, both in Russian and in English.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1941-1996)
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. (With links to full-text where available.)
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. Combines deep background from scholarly sources with expert commentary from a range of organizations, agencies, and publishers and reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social, and technical spectrum.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
Military & Government Collection
Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes CountryWatch's Country Review.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Pravda Digital Archive
A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.
Russia/NIS Military and Security Periodicals
Includes several dozen publications covering military and security developments in Russia from both official and independent sources and from all branches of the armed forces. Includes both Russian and English language sources. In addition to journals and newspapers published in Moscow, the database presents imprints from military districts and some armies and divisions.
Access to Russian newspapers, military periodicals, and parliamentary publications.
Covers Russian and English publications, reports and data sets from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Covers scholarship in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe: books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Materials in English, Russian, and other languages.
Russian Central Newspapers
Provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Includes also several English-language newspapers such as the Moscow Times.
Russian Governmental Publications
Provides records of the hearings of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation including also Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty, published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma, and Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee, responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Also includes texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions and Constitutional Court decisions, as well as popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo.
Russian Regional Newspapers
Presents newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation including Northern Caucasus, Western Siberia, the Volga region, and many others. Also provides coverage of local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The list of titles will continue to be expanded.
Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers 1918-1942.
Includes full-text Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics, and also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life.
An online journal providing news coverage for 28 post-Communist countries.
World News Connection (1995-2013)
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields.
These are online resources available to anyone.
- Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)
This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Updated irregularly.
- Country Reports by The Economist intelligence Unit
Provides comprehensive reports on the latest economic, political, and market conditions in 180 countries worldwide. The Country Reports and annual Country Profiles series highlight major business events, analyze recent political and economic developments, provide economic and trade data and give a political and economic outlook for the next 12-18 months.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Related GWU Research Guide
Related Research Guides
Declassified Documents Reference System
Provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Provides political, economic, and business information on countries. Generally, the best way to use the database is to select country report under My Reports and Services and then select the country from the list that is then displayed.
Europa World Plus
Provides detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories. This resource also provides analytical essays on the following regions: Africa South of the Sahara Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australasia, The Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, The USA and Canada, and Western Europe.
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The Homeland Digital Security Library compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and related national strategy. Information in the HDSL comes from federal, state and local agencies, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. Includes documents created since 2002, plus some earlier documents relevant to current initiatives. Sponsored by the Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants & Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense & Security.
LexisNexis Academic: please use Nexis Uni
This database has been replaced by Nexis Uni.
National Security Archive (ProQuest)
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 24 thematic collections.
Peace Research Abstracts
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Research Library Plus
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. See also World Bank
for additional access to free WorldBank publications. Coverage: includes all official World Bank publications back to 2000.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).