Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Reference on North Korea
Look at the "North Korea References held at GRC" section under "General Reference" tab.
More Open Access References:
Stories of North Korean Defectors
Journals from North Korea
North Korean Serials
Library of Congress provides the list of Serial Title published in North Korea as a part of the North Korean Serials Databases (NKSIP).
North Korea Film / Media
Look at the "North Korea Film /Media" section under "Film" tab.
North Korea Literature
Look at the "Literature" tab for more information about North Korean literatures.
North Korea Databases - GW Subscribed
GW log-in is required to access these databases.
North Korean News (NK News Pro)
NK NEWS - about the politics, military, society.
NK PRO - research tools about North Korea, including company databases, organisational directory, ship tracker, etc.
KCNA WATCH -interface for accessing and searching official North Korea Central TV programs and newspapers such as Tongil Sinbo (통일신보), Pyongyang Times, Korea Today.
Nodong sinmun. 로동신문
Available from 1997 up to 2013 through Access World News Research Collection.
The Pyongyang times
North Korea's leading English newspaper. Issues from 2000 through 2006 are available on-line through Access World News Research Collection. Issues from 2007 to 2009 are located off-site. Issues from 2008 are available on-line through Factiva database.
Open Access North Korea News Sources
A website devoted to best possible analysis of North Korea. Articles from long-time observers of North Korea and the experts who have dealt directly with North Koreans, and the information gathered from Satellite images are posted.
South Korean news source on all things related to North Korea. Available in both English and Korean.
KBS World News
Current and archived news about North Korea provided by KBS World News.
Uri minjok kkiri / 우리민족끼리
Provides North Korean news from North Korea's central news agency. The Website's server is located in China. Includes current news from Rodong sinmun (노동신문), Korean Central TV (조선중앙 TV), etc., Korean Democratic party, press releases, articles, literature, arts (movies, music).
Naenara / 내나라
Official web portal of the North Korean government. Includes news, politics, economy & trade, society & culture, history & folk customs, tourism, etc.
Voice of Korea / 조선의 소리
The international broadcasting service of North Korea. Until 2002 it was known as Radio Pyongyang.
Democratic People's Republic of Korea
"Official" webpage developed by the Korean Friendship Association. Includes news; information about DPRK's national symbols, history, politics, geography, and tradition and culture; an E-library with the Kims' biography, books and articles, etc.
North Korea Leadership Watch
A blog with the information about the DPRK Leadership, biographies of Kim family, and Kim Jong Un's activities.
North Korea Times
An online aggregate of news articles and information related to North Korea.
The Pyongyang Times
Official North Korean newspaper disseminated worldwide. Print edition also available in the Global Resources Center.
People's Korea / 조선신보
Published by the Korea News Service in Tokyo in Korean and Japanese.
Korean Central News Agency / 조선중앙통신
Daily news in Korean and English from the Korean Central News Agency of the DPRK, operated by the Korea News Service in Tokyo. Includes photos and video clips as well as the "Supreme Leader's Works" and "Supreme Leader's Activities".
Korea Central TV / 조선중앙텔레비죤
Watch Nk's Central TV either live-streamed or archived. Service provided by NK News.
North Korea Today : YouTube Channel
Video clips of current news, archived news, TV programs and performances.
Resources on Korean War
Books from U.S. Government Publications
List of Books under the the topic of "Korean War" from Books from U.S. Government bookstore.
The Eisenhower Presidential Library : The Korean War
President Eisenhower's actions related to the Korean War.
Harry S. Truman Library & Museum : The Korean War and Its Origins
Include official documents and photographs from 1945 through 1953 related to the Korean War.
Harry S. Truman Library & Museum : The Korean War File
Includes Departments of State and Defense documents relating to the Korean War that were copied and sent to the White House at the request of President Truman.
Korean War Legacy Project
Contains about 1000 Korean War oral histories, over 2800 video clips, and over 1600 photos. Collected by Korean War Legacy Foundation.
Korean War Map Sets
Maps related to the Korean War from the U.S. Army Center, Marine Corps, Navy. Also includes maps of DMZ area and Inchon Landing Beaches. Provided by Korean War Project, a non-profit corporation operated in Texas.
Korean War Projects
Includes KIA-MIA-POW databases, Korean War maps, and other reference resources from U.S. Army and Marine Corps.
National Archives : Korean War Records
Includes Records of U.S. Military Casualties, Missing in Action, and Prisoners of War from the Era of the Korean War, and records of nurse casualties.
Stae Department: Korean War and Japan’s Recovery (1945–1952)
Report from “Milestones in the History of U.S. Foreign Relations” by the Office of the Historian.
Wilson Center Digital Archive : The Korean War
Essays by Dr. Gregg Brazinsky. Also check out other digital collections by Wilson Center on Korean war.
Resources on Foreign relations of the U.S. with North Korea
Resources on North Korea and China relations
China Reference Works Online (CNKI)
China Reference Works Online is an authoritative, comprehensive and continuously updated encyclopedia database. It collects more than 7,000 reference works from about 200 China leading publisher. You can find articles, including Chinese analyses of North Korea, from most Chinese periodicals in pdf format. It also has dissertations and theses. [Requires GW log-in]
Resources on North Korea's Nuclear Program
North Korean News (NK News Pro)
To learn about North Korea's missile types and missile launch history, click on the "NK Pro" (on the top right), and go to "Missile Tracker" under "Research Tools". [Requires GW log-in].
Resources on North Korea's Economy
Resources on North Korea's Human Rights Issues
Amnesty International : North Korea
Includes news and research analysis about North Korea's human rights issues.
Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)
Commentary by Robert R. King, Former special envoy for North Korea human rights issues at the U.S. Department of State (2009 - 2017)
The Committee for Human Rights in North Korea (HRNK) 북한인권위원회
Includes HRNK publications, articles, list of resources on North Korean human rights issues, and policy recommendations. Available both in Korean and English.
Database Center for North Korean Human Rights (NKDB) 뷱한인권정보센터 [English/Korean]
NKDB was established in 2003 to highlight the human rights situation inside North Korea, to collect, analyze, and sort information about the North Korean government's human rights violations, and to protect and support the victims of these cases.
Human Rights Watch World Report :North Korea Events of 2016
Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world.
International Comitee of the Red Cross (ICRC) : North Korea
The focus of the ICRC activities is on physical rehabilitation, health, peri-urban water supply and sanitation, training of safe disposal of explosive remnants of the Korean War, emergency preparedness, promotion of Geneva Conventions and capacity building of the National Society.
The International Justice Resource Center (IJRC)
Special reports and hearings of human rights conditions in North Korea.
North Korea Freedom Coalition
The North Korea Freedom Coalition is a nonpartisan coalition founded in June, 2003 to work for the freedom, human rights, and dignity of the North Korea people. Includes North Korean human rights information.
People for Successful COrean REunification (PSCORE)
PSCORE is a non-profit NGO based in South Korea. Includes stories of North Korean refugees, violence and abuses happening in North Korea, abductees.
U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF): North Korea
Reports about North Korea found in the Annual Reports and special reports.
United Nations Human Rights Council
Report of the Commission of Inquiry on Human Rights in the Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Citizens’ Alliance for North Korean Human Rights (NKHR)
Founded in Seoul in 1996, NKHR is the world’s first and oldest NGO Devoted fully to the advancement of human rights in North Korea.
South Korean Organizations related to North Korea
North Korean Language Books