Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles at Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. You can find many more search tips at Google Scholar.
- Use quotation marks to search for phrases.
- Use the Advanced Scholar feature to restrict your search for articles: by author, by journal and by date.
- Cited By: is a feature that works like a springboard--allowing you to see other scholarly articles that have cited a scholarly work.
Citation Tools (e.g., RefWorks) let you
- Import citations from the catalog and databases
- Store and organize citations
- Add research notes
- Format in-text citations
- Create bibliographies in different citation styles
General East Asian Titles
An English-language journal that promotes regional cooperation and integration. It is published by the East Asia Foundation based in Seoul, Korea.
Publications by the Korea Economic Institute. Titles include Academic Paper Series: On Korea, Joint U.S.-Korea Academic Studies, Korea's Economy, Korea Insight, and Special Studies.
English Language Titles
Gelman Library holds the following journals in print and/or electronic format. More English-language journals can be accessed by going to the Databases tab and browsing journal titles within individual databases.
Journal of Korean Studies 1979-
The Journal of Korean Studies is the preeminent journal in its field, publishing high-quality articles in all disciplines in the humanities and social sciences on a broad range of Korea-related topics, both historical and contemporary.
Journal of Korean studies 1969 - 1971
Issues available electronically from 1969 volume: 1 issue: 1 through 1969 volume: 1 issue: 1.
Korea & World Affairs
(Seoul: Research Center for Peace and Unification) 1978-present.
An English-language monthly webzine and a quarterly journal, featuring commentaries and essays on Korean politics, economy, society and culture, as well as relevant international issues.
(Seoul: Korea Foundation) 1993-present.
(Seoul : Korean National Commission for UNESCO) 1983-present. Also available electronically 1961-2008 (partial access for latest two issues).
Korean Journal of Defense Analysis
(Seoul, Korea: Korea Institute for Defense Analyses) 1989-1996, 1999-2004. Also available electronically, 2008-2010.
(Seoul: Academy of Korean Studies) 1989, 1993-2000, 2002-present.
(Honolulu: University Press of Hawaii) 1977-2002. Also available electronically 1977-present.
A quarterly journal on Korean art and culture published by the Korea Foundation. It is available in many languages, including English and Korean.
Korean Language Titles
The following journals are located in the Asian Journals section of the Global Resources Center. Additional Korean language journals are available through KISS and DBpia databases. More Korean-language journals can be accessed by going to the Databases tab and browsing journal titles within individual databases.
Journals from North Korea
North Korean Serials
Library of Congress provides the list of Serial Title published in North Korea as a part of the North Korean Serials Databases (NKSIP).