Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
References on Korea held at GRC
These print dictionaries and encyclopedias are available at the Gelman Library. Click on the title to go to the catalog record.
Reference Databases - GW Subscribed
These databases are available through Gelman and provide reference information on various countries, including Koreas. If you are outside of Gelman, you are requied to login to access.
Contains the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, the Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. Also includes an Internet directory with more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Europa World Plus
Provides detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories. This resource also provides analytical essays on the following regions: Africa South of the Sahara Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australasia, The Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, The USA and Canada, and Western Europe.
Oxford Reference Online
The Premium Collection includes over 175 titles, updated regularly, in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Searches the indexes and article titles in subject encyclopedias and other reference sources in a variety of disciplines.
Sage eReference Books
This collection includes online encyclopedias from a variety of disciplines, primarily in the social sciences.
These are select websites providing free online access to some reference information.
ALIO (공공기관 경영정보 공개시스템)
Get access to information on public companies and institutions in South Korea. Information available can include notes from trustees meetings, basic information on executives, public policy papers, bidding information, as well as final reports from inspections and audits (In Korean only).
Committee on Korean Materials
An online collection of links to a variety of useful resources on Korea and Korean studies.
Revised Korean Romanization
Explanation and instructions on the official romanization standards for South Korea.
Korea Investors Service
Get access to profiles, credit ratings, and classified searches for companies in South Korea.
A virtual archive of source on Korean Christianity by UCLA.
Korean History: A Bibliography
(Compiled by Kenneth Robinson) This website provides a farily extensive list of major secondary works (mostly English language) on specific sub-fields (post-1945 era, Choson dynasty, Korean diaspora, etc.) within Korean Studies.