Research Guides: Crisis in Ukraine: Foreign Media Coverage and Additional Resources

Foreign Media Coverage by Country

United States

CNN Coverage

Search these historical newspaper database by using key words such as: Ukraine AND Crisis; Ukraine AND war; Crimea AND annexation, etc.

Italy

How should Europe respond to Russia? The Italian view
Commentary from European Council on Foreign Relations

Southern Europe

Southeast Europe: Reactions to the Crisis in Ukraine
From Jamestown Foundation

Ukraine

Russia

Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
Go here to research Russian press coverage of the crisis in Ukraine. This is an excellent English language resource.

European Perspectives

Conflict in Ukraine from the European Point of View: A Policy Perspective and Recommendations
From Beyond Intractability (Conflict Information Consortium (BI) at University of Colorado-Boulder)
European Reaction from European Council on Foreign Relations:
European reaction from European Leadership Network
Framing the Ukraine crisis: A comparison between talk show debates in Russian and German television
Analysis from The International Communication Gazette
Reporting on the Minsk II Agreement: the Effect of Russian Narratives in French and German Media
Institute for European Studies Policy Brief
RFE/RL (Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty) Crisis in Ukraine coverage
News and analysis from the leading European international broadcasting organization
RFE/RL (Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty) Latest Headlines from Ukraine
Latest Ukraine news from the leading European international broadcaster

Foreign Media Database Searches

In order to find scholarly materials on this subject go to SUBJECT DATABASES on the GWU library website. Then go to A to Z list and choose the productive databases listed below. For your searches use key words such as: EU OR European Union AND Crisis in Ukraine; Western media AND Crisis in Ukraine; Western reaction AND Crisis in Ukraine; Germany AND media AND Crisis in Ukraine; France AND media AND Crisis in Ukraine etc.

For assistance with database searching please, contact Global Resources Center librarian Mark Yoffe.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
News and Media Database
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News and Media Database
ABI/Inform Complete Plus This link opens in a new window A great starting place for business research, this database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Covers magazines and scholarly journals in the fields of mass media and communication studies. Combines the resources formerly known as CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 450 political science and international relations journals as well as dissertations, country reports, and policy papers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database covering both scholarly sources and popular content. Includes the contents of ProQuest Research Library, ABI-Inform, and U.S. and International Newsstreams, as well as various ProQuest disciplinary collections.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.

Libguides on Crisis in Ukraine from other universities and organizations

Libguides and analysis from military institutions

Information from the Parties to the Conflict

Parties to the Conflict:

Ukraine - Office of the President news page

Ukraine - Parliament main page

Russia - Office of the President main page with information on President Putin's most recent activities and statements

Russian Embassy in Washington, DC - main page with updates on regarding latest events in Ukraine as well as links to background on Russia-US relations

Embassy of Ukraine in the USA - main page with updates regarding situation in Ukraine as well as Ukrainian-US relations from the point of view of the Ukrainian government

Ukrainian Organizations in the USA

U.S.-Ukraine Business Council

U.S.-Ukraine Foundation

Ukrainian Institute of America

Crisis in Ukraine: Foreign Media Coverage and Additional Resources