Research Guides: Crisis in Ukraine: Ukraine: Media and Propaganda War

In order to find scholarly materials on this subject go to SUBJECT DATABASES on the GWU library website. Then go to A to Z list and choose the productive databases listed below. For your searches use key words such as: Hybrid warfare AND Ukraine; Hybrid warfare AND Russia; Media war AND Ukraine; Propaganda war AND Ukraine; Disinformation AND Ukraine.

For assistance with database searching please, contact Global Resources Center librarian Mark Yoffe.

ABI/Inform Complete Plus This link opens in a new window A great starting place for business research, this database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Covers magazines and scholarly journals in the fields of mass media and communication studies. Combines the resources formerly known as CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 450 political science and international relations journals as well as dissertations, country reports, and policy papers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database covering both scholarly sources and popular content. Includes the contents of ProQuest Research Library, ABI-Inform, and U.S. and International Newsstreams, as well as various ProQuest disciplinary collections.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.

Ukrainian contra-propaganda and Russian independent news sites

Ukrainian site debunking Russian media fakes: StopFake.org

Euromaidan Press (progressive Ukrainian site): EuroMaiden Press

Independent Russian media outlets

Telekanal Dozhd’

Radio Ekho Moskvy

"Maskirovka" -- Russian Deception Tactics

'Maskirovka' is the Russian military strategy of deception, involving techniques to surprise and deceive the enemy. Here are some links that explore the various tactics used, with a particular focus on the ongoing crisis in Ukraine.

Main Russian internet monitoring agency responsible for disinformation and hacking
NY TImes article
Social Network Analysis Reveals Full Scale of Kremlin's Twitter Bot Campaign
Learn about the extent of the Russian Twitter campaign from this analysis by social media researcher Lawrence Alexander
Maskirovka: Russia's Masterful Use of Deception in Ukraine
Huffington Post article from April 2014 analyzing the Russian use of "maskirovka" during the early stages of the Crimea/Ukraine campaign
How Russia outfoxes its enemies
Article from BBC Magazine
BBC Analysis Podcast -- "Maskirovka: Deception Russian-Style"
A 30-minute BBC podcast

Changing Public Opinion in Russia

A New Wave of Russian Nationalism? What Really Changed in Public Opinion after Crimea
How did the media coverage of the dramatic events of 2014, including the annexation of Crimea and the onset of violent armed conflict in eastern Ukraine, transform the opinion of Russians regarding their ethnic identity, nation, and state? Find out in this July 2015 analysis of public opinion research published by PONARS Eurasia, an international network of academics that advances new policy approaches to research and security in Russia and Eurasia.
more...less...
PONARS Eurasia is located at the Institute for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies at The Elliott School of International Affairs and is supported by the Carnegie Corporation of New York, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, and The George Washington University/IERES.

How to identify media fakes

This guide from StopFake.org shows how to identify fake media reports.

EU creates a team to fight Russian propaganda

Books from Gelman library on propaganda

A Century of Media, a Century of War by Robin Andersen
Call Number: E745 .A54 2006
ISBN: 0820478946
Publication Date: 2006
War, Media, and Propaganda by Yahya R. Kamalipour, Nancy Snow (Editors)
Call Number: P96.W352 W37 2004
ISBN: 0742535622
Publication Date: 2004
Deception in War by Jon Latimer
Call Number: U167.5.D37 L38 2001
ISBN: 1585672041
Publication Date: 2001
Soviet Military Deception in the Second World War by David M. Glantz
Call Number: D810.S7 G55 1989
ISBN: 0415408598
Publication Date: 1989