Research Guides: Marketing: Find Consumer Data

Consumer Data

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census and the American
Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B business points-of-interest business data, and marketing segmentation from Claritas PRIZM. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, and the MOSAIC consumer lifestyle segmentation system. NOTE: Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Local Market Audience Analyst.) Provides sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Off-campus users should log in through the GW VPN. Click on the blue button Log into Claritas 360. This database is only supported in the 2 most recent versions of Google Chrome. For assistance in using the database, go to the Client Solution Center between 9:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. (Monday through Friday, ET) at 800.866.6511 or clientsupport@claritas.com

Lifestyle Market Analyst Annual. 1989-1990, 1992-1999, 2001-2008.
Location: HF.5415.3.L5
Provides analysis of geographical areas demographically and also as regards lifestyle interests (e.g. bowling foreign travel). It also provides national information on lifestyle segments (e.g. what sorts of activities people like to do needlework and what else they like to do) and on demographic segments.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport (formerly called Global Market Information Database) provides international market intelligence for countries, consumers and industries. Please note: All access to this database is restricted to GW students, faculty and staff who will have to login - even on campus. Walk-in use by others is not permitted.

Direct Marketing Educational Foundation (DMEF)
Location: Wharton Research Data Services
"Four individual data sets, each containing customer buying history for about 100,000 customers of nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses are available through DMEF to approved academic researchers for use within academic situations.
"Corporate names are anonymous and customer names and addresses have been removed, but the business type is indicated. ZIP codes have been retained (if possible) to provide a potential link to Census ZIP level demographics."
George Washington University faculty members and graduate students may set up individual WRDS accounts. George Washington University faculty members may also set up accounts for their classes. In order to request a WRDS account at no cost to you, please go to http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/