Research Guides: Marketing: Find Statistics

Statistics

Household Pulse Survey
Weekly and bi-weekly U.S, census publication. The new experimental Household Pulse Survey is designed to quickly and efficiently deploy data collected on how people’s lives have been impacted by the coronavirus pandemic.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database) provides international market intelligence for countries, consumers and industries. Note: Users must register (no charge). All access to this database is restricted to GW students, faculty, and staff even on campus. Walk-in use by others is not permitted.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Location: Online and HA 202 (Some in Gelman stacks and some in WRLC storage.)
Published since 1878, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database includes editions through 2012; for later editions, see the ProQuest version.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
offers access to hundreds of databases and datasets including World Development Indicators. Please address your questions to data@worldbank.org.
CEIC Global Database (with China and Brazil premium data) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Register for a CEIC account (no charge) to save searches and download data, or click guest access to search without downloading. Limit: 5 simultaneous users. Please log out when finished! Over 2.5 million item time series covering economies from the United States and China to Vietnam, Bulgaria, Chile, and Kenya. It offers a quick country reference on key indicators such as GDP, GNP, FDI, and CPI, as well as detailed, hard-to-find information on 18 macroeconomic and 14 industrial sectors.

U.S. Census Bureau
Provides a plethora of demographic, social, and economic statistics for the United States, including County Business Patterns.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics and Studies from more than 18,000 Sources. Aggregates statistics and data sets from a variety of international free and proprietary sources, including industry and marketing. Data sets can be displayed in multiple graphical formats.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Location: Online and HA202 .H57 2006 (Reference and Fourth Floor Stacks.)
Contains over 37,000 statistical time series from the earliest dates of United States history to most recent available at the time of publication in 2006.

Business Patterns Annual. 1964-
Also available at HC 101 .A184 (for 1964 - 1997).
Arranges by NAICS code data by county. The data for each industry include "number of employees, taxable payrolls, and number of establishments by employment size class." There are volumes for the separate states and a summary volume for the U.S. as a whole.
To access it, click on advanced search and then on show; me all; under topics choose datasets (expand by clicking on +);