Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Find Rare and Archival Material

Special Collections in the Washington Area

Catholic Americana
URL: http://libraries.cua.edu/rarecoll/catamer.html
Located in the Special Collections Department of Catholic University's Library, this collection focuses on the history of the Catholic Church in America.

Library of Congress: American Memory Collection

URL: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?category=Religion

Woodstock Theological Center Library
URL: http://www.library.georgetown.edu/woodstock/
Located at Georgetown's Joseph Mark Lauinger Library, the collection includes select letters of Ignatius of Loyola and other 16th -19th Century Roman Catholic, Jesuit, and American theological resources.

Dumbarton Oaks Byzantine Studies
URL:  http://www.doaks.org/research/byzantine/
The program in Byzantine Studies at Dumbarton Oaks supports scholarship on the civilization of the Byzantine Empire from the fourth to fifteenth centuries and its interactions with neighboring cultures. The collection has 149,000 volumes, including works on Byzantine art and archaeology, museum catalogs, illustrative materials on manuscripts, painting, mosaic, sculpture, and the decorative arts.

The Middle East Institute Library
URL:  http://www.mideasti.org/library
The Library has a collection of 25,000 books in Western languages and more than 300 periodicals, specializing in current events, history, culture, economics, religion, politics, and languages of the Middle East.

 

Primary Sources on Religion at Gelman Library

Issac Edward Kiev (1905-1975) worked his way up from page to Chief Librarian at the Jewish Institute of Religon, a position that he held from 1942 to his death in 1975. His personal papers are organized into six series: Personal and professional papers, Photographs, Music, Pamphlets, Graphic arts, and Artifacts.

 

 

Gelman Library

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM

 

For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu

For University Archives inquiries:  archives@gwu.edu

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.

Click here to search ArchiveGrid

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu