Research Guides: Religion: Getting Started

About Me

Email Me

Contact:

202-994-6303

Subjects: Area Studies, Geography, Global Studies, History, International Relations, Political Science, Religion, Russia, Eurasia and Central/Eastern Europe

Scholarship on Religion & Theology

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
Proquest Religion This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. This resource presently has more than 170 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records for articles from major journals added since 2001 also include lists of works cited.

Biblical Exegesis

To find scholarly exegesis in the ATLA database, use the Scripture tab at the top and select Biblical passages at the chapter, book, or verse level.

Sacred Texts

Multiple editions/translations of these texts may be located in the library stacks, along with commentaries and concordances.

The Analects of Confucius
PL 2478 .C57 (5th floor)

The Bible (Old and New Testaments)
BS 191.5 A1 (4th floor & Reference)

The Book of Mormon
BX 8623 (4th floor)

The Hebrew Bible
BS 715 (4th floor)

The Pali Canon
BQ 1138 (4th floor)

The Qur'an (or Koran)
BP 109 (4th floor)

The Vedas
BL 1112.2 - 1137.5 (4th floor)