This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Judaic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Judaic Studies   Tags: israel, jews, judaic_studies, judaism, palestine, zionism  

This research guide is intended to assist those doing research on Jewish topics. There is a separate research guide on the Holocaust.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/judaic Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopaedia Judaica
    Online version of the 22 volume, 2nd edition of the Encyclopaedia Judaica (2006). Covers all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history and religion.
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica (First Edition)
    Location: REF DS 102 .E5 1972
  • Jewish Encyclopedia
    Also available at: DS 102.8 .J6 Also in the Kiev Reading Room oversize section.
  • New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel.
    Location: DS 149 .N56 1994

Classic Texts

  • Mechon Mamre
    This provides the Bible in Hebrew and English, Mishne Torah in Hebrew and English, Mishna, Tosefta, Talmud Bavli, Talmud Yerushalmi, Targum Onqelos, and Tiqqun Qore'im. Search engines are provided for each.

Databases

  • Reshimat Ma'amarim be Mada'e ha-Yahadut (Index of Articles on Jewish Studies) 1971/1972-present.
    This covers articles in periodicals and collections of essays in many languages.
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
    Mobile version available. An index of English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories on Jewish history, thought, and activity from more than 160 journals on Jewish affairs.
  • JTA Jewish News Archive
    This is an archive of arrticles of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency back to 1923. "JTA was founded in the waning days of World War I by Jacob Landau as a mechanism for transmitting vital information about what was happening in Jewish communities in various parts of the world. Orginally named the Jewish Correspondence Bureau, it was, in fact, the first news agency that not only gathered but also disseminated news in every part of the world."
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Provides the full-text of many popular and scholarly U.S. ethnic periodicals.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shmuel Ben-Gad
 
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558refdesk@gwu.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip