Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Finding and Citing Sacred Texts

Sacred Texts in Print

The Analects.
Location:PL2997.L82
Sacred text for Confucianism.

The Bible.
Location: REF BS191.5 A1S26 2006
Includes both Old and New Testaments, basic texts for Judaism and Christianity.

Book of Mormon.
Location:BX8623.
Sacred text of the Church of Jesus Christ of Later-Day Saints.

Qur'an.
Location:BP109.
Also called the Koran, sacred text to followers of Muhammad.

Science and Health with a Key to the Scriptures.
Location:  BX6941 .S4
Written by Mary Baker Eddy, this text contains the teachings of the Church of Christ, Scientist .

Rig-Veda.
Location: BL1112 .54 .E5
Sacred text of the Hindu faith.

Tripitaka.
Location: BQ1138 .P34
Sacred text of Tibetan Buddhism (46 volumes).

Sacred Texts Online

Style Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
Location: READY REF LB2369 .G53. Latest in reference, earlier editions in the stacks.
According to the MLA Handbook, internal documentation of sacred texts should list version, chapter abbreviation, and verse. (For example: New International Version, Rom. 12:2) Sacred texts are included under Works Cited.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Location: READY REF BF76.7 .P82 1994
According to the APA manual, internal documentation of sacred texts should list chapter, verse, and version. (For example: Romans 12:2, New International Version) It is not necessary to include sacred texts in the reference list at the end of the paper.

SBL Handbook of Style for ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies.
Location: REF PN147 .S26 1999
SBL (Society of Biblical Literature) standards require that internal documentation of sacred texts list the abbreviated name of the chapter, verse, and abreviated version.  (For example:  Rom 12:2 NIV).  Sacred texts are not included in the bibliography.
Style guide specific to research in classical and religious studies.

Citation Help!

Citation Managers let you

  • Import citations from the catalog and databases
  • Store and organize citations
  • Add research notes
  • Format in-text citations
  • Create bibliographies in different citation styles

Citation Style Guides show you how to

  • Document the sources you are using in your work
  • Create citations manually for all types of sources
  • Embed quotations and paraphrases properly in your text
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu