Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WELCOME TO THE LIBGUIDE ON ISLAMIC ART & ARCHITECTURE
Islam promoted the development of a unique way of life and culture, with its own distinctive style that is reflected in art and architecture throughout the Muslim world and beyond. This guide provides useful and authoritative resources that covers an historical range that extends geographically from Southeast Asia, the Middle East and Spain. Islamic art, in addition to architecture, covers many types of artistic aspects, such as illuminated manuscripts, carpets & textiles, paintings & calligraphy, and ceramics.
SELECTED ISLAMIC ART BOOKS
SELECTED SUBJECT DATABASES
Discover Islamic Art
A virtual museum that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region, with submissions from 14 countries.
Eastern Art Publications Online (Ashmolean Museum)
The Ashmolean has an important collection of works from the Islamic Middle East, totalling well over 4,000 objects. The collection includes fine pieces of ceramics, metalwork, glass, wood and ivory, textiles, and works on paper and parchment, made in a wide region extending from Spain to Central Asia over a period of over a thousand years.
Islamic Art Collection at LACMA
This website is conceived as a companion to the Islamic galleries at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Intended as a general introduction to Islamic art, it draws upon examples from the museum’s comprehensive collection, which includes works from an area extending from southern Spain to Central Asia, ranging in date from the seventh century up to the present day. The text is designed for readers who seek to go beyond the obvious surface beauty of Islamic art to discover the rich historical and cultural traditions from which this art emerged.
Islamic Heritage Project
A collection of over 280 Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps dating from the 10th to 20th centuries CE, selected from Houghton Library and the Harvard Art Museum/Arthur M. Sackler Museum.
ISLAMIC ART: MIRROR OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD
GW SUBJECT GUIDE
Textile Museum Journal
The peer-reviewed journal is the leading publication for the exchange of textile scholarship in North America. A new volume is released each fall, digitally and in print. Articles feature research on the cultural, technical, historical and aesthetic significance of textiles from all around the world.
Textiles & Rugs from the Islamic World
The museum offers textiles and rugs from the Islamic world, and rugs & clothing from around the world, dating from 3000 BC to the present. The collection ranges from rugs produced in court and urban workshops to works woven by women in rural villages and nomadic encampments. Among these are superior examples of 15th-century Mamluk rugs from Egypt, Spanish carpets and classical Indian carpet fragments.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
Searchable ebooks, including monographs and exhibition catalogues, from Yale University Press, Princeton University Press, The MIT Press, Yale University Art Gallery, Art Institute of Chicago, Harvard Art Museum and more.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of more than 750,000 images applicable to different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Use the Register link to create a free personal account to download and save images. NOTE: Mobile version requires creating a login by registering on ARTstor using a regular workstation first.