Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NORTH AFRICA COLLECTIONS
Bibliothèque nationale du Royaume du Maroc
The Moroccan Digital Library, created by the Bibliothèque Nationale du Royaume du Maroc (BNRM), has a special section devoted to lithographed books, containing digital images of over 30 of them. Almost all printing in Morocco was lithographic until well into the 20C, so these are of particular historic importance.Users can choose between Arabic and French interfaces.
Digital Assets Repository (DAR)
The Digital Assets Repository (DAR) is a system developed at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, the Library of Alexandria, to create and maintain the Library's digital collections. Explore our large collection of Arabic digital books, photo albums and more.
Digitized Arabic Materials- Denmark Royal Library
The Royal Library in Denmark provides access to handful images of early Middle Eastern printed books.
Islamic Studies and Cultural Collection
Uploads from the general users of ARCHIVE.ORG related to Islamic culture, studies and related subjects.
Oman Electronic Library
Portal of digitized Ibadi manuscripts and serials from several important collections in Oman, Zanzibar and the Mzab (Algeria)
Virtual Library of the University of Alger
Digital library of documents digitized by the BU about Algeria and its civilization, its history from the dawn of time to the present day in all fields. It covers the period from the beginnings of printing until 1930 for books in Arabic script and 1811 for books in Latin script. (Arabic and French)
MIDDLE EAST COLLECTIONS
The Afghanistan Digital Library
The Afghanistan Digital Library retrieves and restores works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930.
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library (AMEEL)
AMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts.
Ataturk Library- library of the Greater Istanbul Municipality
Atatürk Library contains totally 4.760 manuscripts, documents from various archives, postcards, maps and periodicals, Armenian books, and 40,000 books in Ottoman Turkish, Arabic and Persian.
Digitisation of manuscripts at the Al-Aqsa Mosque Library, East Jerusalem (EAP521)
The Endangered Archives Program captures forgotten and still not written histories, often suppressed or marginalized. The library’s rare and most valuable collection consists of approximately 2000 manuscripts.
History of Istanbul
This site is designed for the dissemination of History of Istanbul from Antiquity to XXIst Century, a work prepared by the cooperation of Türkiye Diyanet Foundation Center for Islamic Studies (İSAM) and İstanbul Metropolitan Municipality Kültür ve Sanat Ürünleri A.Ş.
The Islamic Studies Centre - ISAM
The Islamic Studies Centre in Üsküdar offers three significant online collections of Ottoman printed materials. Over 520 of the official yearbooks ,which are very important sources of statistical and other information on all the Ottoman provinces. over 2400 pamphlets or “treatises” in Ottoman Turkish, mainly on political, religious and educational subjects. And articles from 20 Ottoman Turkish periodicals.
The Malek National Library- Iran
The Malek National Library, with 19,000 rare and exquisite manuscripts, is one of the six great treasures of Iranian manuscripts. The library also has about 100,000 printed books, 3,568 lithographs and 548 periodicals in 6,000 volumes. A significant part of printed books belong to before 1320 and are among the first printed books in Iran.
The Middle East Virtual Library- MENALIB
The site provides access to classics from the oriental science subjects as well as current research articles, which you can read in Open Access or save as PDF.