Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART & ARCHITECTURE
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
Searchable ebooks, including monographs and exhibition catalogues, from Yale University Press, Princeton University Press, The MIT Press, Yale University Art Gallery, Art Institute of Chicago, Harvard Art Museum and more.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books, and includes a collection of over 63,000 images. It supersedes Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective. There is strong international coverage.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of more than 750,000 images applicable to different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Use the Register link to create a free personal account to download and save images. NOTE: Mobile version requires creating a login by registering on ARTstor using a regular workstation first.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Citations from scholarly and popular sources from the U.S. and abroad, including professional associations, regional periodicals, and major international journals. Also included are citations to professional obituaries (often the only available sources of biographical information for less-published architects).
Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. Now published by ProQuest, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 as part of BHA, with ProQuest adding 25,000 new records yearly to maintain unbroken coverage. Subjects include fine art in all media; archaeology; museum studies and conservation; and more.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The complete text of The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with ongoing additions of new material and updates.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
MC ESCHER INSPIRED BY ISLAMIC ART
Art around Dubai: Islamic geometric patterns
Geometric patterns are believed to mirror the infinite nature of Allah in several ways. Circles for example, have neither a beginning nor an end. The repetitive, complex geometric designs in Muslim art give the impression that even the smallest element of pattern plays a distinctive role in the infinite repetition of the whole.
Pattern in Islamic Art
This website offers an archive of over 4000 images of patterns and other design features drawn from the rich cultural heritage of the Islamic world.
Ceramic of the Muslim World