Data Preservation and Data Sources

The Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics (COPAFS) is devoted to educational activities and to preserving the public good represented by federal statistical collections.

DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.

The Data Curation Network (DCN) is a membership organization based at the University of Minnesota that supports collaborative efforts between institutional and non-profit data repositories to make data more ethical, reusable, and understandable. The DCN website shares data curation best practices and provides training resources and professional development opportunities in data curation. The DCN also facilitates a shared-curation workflow, in which datasets from one institution are matched with an expert at a different member institution.

The Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is a research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right to Know (ERTK). They have been archiving US federal environmental data.

The Innovation Lab has created a data vault to download, sign as authentic, and make available copies of public government data that is most valuable to researchers, scholars, civil society and the public at large across every field. They have collected major portions of the datasets tracked by data.gov, federal Github repositories, and PubMed.

IASSIST members work in information technology, libraries, data services, research & higher education, government, non-profit and the private research sector to discover data, curate it, make it available, and keep it available. Encourages collaborative approaches to responsible data management and use, development of broad community surrounding research data, and support for open science.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free texts, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.

The LGBTQ+ Archive was created to preserve and make accessible federal LGBTQ+ resources that were removed from public websites following the 2025 presidential transition. The archive serves as a centralized, navigable home for federal LGBTQ+ materials that were once public, including health guidance, civil rights policies, support tools, research, and more. Created and maintained by the LGBT Technology Institute.

Volunteer organization committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data.

The Research Data Access & Preservation (RDAP) Association is a nonprofit organization that supports information professionals in creating, maintaining, advancing, and teaching best practices for research data, access, and preservation. The RDAP community includes data managers and curators, librarians, archivists, researchers, educators, students, technologists, and data scientists from academic institutions, data centers, funding agencies, and industry who represent a wide range of STEM disciplines, social sciences, and humanities.

The Silencing Science Tracker is a joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund; it records reports of federal, state, and local government initiatives that may restrict or prohibit scientific research, education, or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information.

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is a professional membership association for obstetricians and gynecologists. The organization is hosting copies of immunization schedules and contraceptive use guidance from the CDC

The University of Chicago Data Mirror "provides convenient access to public datasets that are frequently used in academic research and education at the University of Chicago."

America’s Health Rankings provides health information at the state level to inform policymakers, public health officials and other stakeholders about health trends across a range of demographics.

Country Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R) is a program of the University of Wisconsin’s Population Health Institute. This tool aims to highlight the symbiotic nature of health and equity by factoring in physical environment, social and economic indicators, clinical care, and health behaviors to health outcomes.

Congressional District Health Dashboard provides health metrics based on the 435 congressional districts within the United States. The dashboard covers a range of measures including life expectancy, prenatal care, food insecurity and more.

Census Reporter is a free, open-source platform focused on making American Community Survey (ACS) data more accessible, including the recent upload of the 2023 ACS data.