Research Guides: Data Preservation and Data Sources: Data Preservation Tools

Overview

The Research Data Management Task Force is a collaboration between Libraries and Academic Innovation, Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library, GW Information Technology, and the Office of the Vice Provost for Research.

Data Preservation Tools

These data preservation organizations focus on preserving data:

ArchiveBox has archived datasets from data.gov, CIBP, USCIS, NOAA, NASA, NSIDC
Archive Team is focusing on archiving datasets from the U.S. Government
The Federal Environmental Web Tracker tracks website changes related to climate, energy, and the environment.
GitHub: Awesome Datahoarding provides lists of tools for web harvesting
GovDiff shows side-by-side comparisons of government website changes
MIT Libraries: Data Management Checklist provides a checklist for curating data rescue efforts
r/Data Hoarder is a subreddit of data preservation activists
Safeguarding Research Discourse Group is a preservation group hosted outside of the US
WebRecorder has archived 8TB+ of government sites

ArchiveBox
ArchiveBox is an open source tool that lets organizations & individuals archive both public & private web content while retaining control over their data. It can be used to save copies of bookmarks, preserve evidence for legal cases, backup photos from FB/Insta/Flickr or media from YT/Soundcloud/etc., save research papers, and more…
Archive Team Warriors
This website is intended to be an offloading point and information depot for a number of archiving projects, all related to saving websites or data that is in danger of being lost. Besides serving as a hub for team-based pulling down and mirroring of data, this site will provide advice on managing your own data and rescuing it from the brink of destruction.
Dataindex.us
Website dedicated to monitoring changes in federal datasets.
Federal Environmental Web Tracker (EDGI)
The Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) maintains the Federal Environmental Web Tracker to monitor additions, changes, and removals to federal webpages on climate, energy, and the environment.
GitHub: Awesome DataHoarding
Open-source list of tools related to archiving.
GovDiff
Tool built by Ben Borgers and Jerome Paulos to compare government websites before and after inauguration.
MIT Libraries: Data Management Checklist
This checklist provides steps you can take to ensure the government data you use in your research remains accessible to you and others.
r/Data Hoarder
This is a subreddit of data preservation activists that aims at bringing data hoarders together to share their passion with like minded people.
Safeguarding Research Discourse Group
Organizing to safeguard as much publicly available research, including GLAM (Gallery, Library, Archive, and Museum)-collections, as possible. Led by Henrik Schoenemann and hosted in Germany.
WebRecorder
The Webrecorder team has been developing open source web archiving tools for over 10 years. We strive to make web archiving tools accessible to anyone who needs to collect and preserve content that is meaningful to them.