Skip to main content

Anthropology

Resources for those doing research in the area of anthropology

Contact Information

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM

 

For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu

For University Archives inquiries:  archives@gwu.edu

Primary Sources on Anthropology at Gelman Library

The Thomas Hahn Chesapeake and Ohio Canal Collection

Thomas Hahn (1926- 2007) was a professional industrial archaeologist and college professor. He was considered one of the world's foremost experts on the C&O Canal. He was the field archaeologist on two major canal restoration projects: one in Havre de Grace, Md., the other in Alexandria, Va. Hahn founded national and international canal societies as a way of sharing information. This Collection contains materials related to Thomas Hahn's involvement in the C&O Canal Association, as well as other canals related to the C&O, and canals in general. Materials range in date from 1939 to 1993.

Anthropology Department Records

The Anthropology Department at The George Washington University was founded in 1965. Materials in this collection include departmental reports and vertical files, as well as copies of the "Anthro-notes" newsletter. They range in date from 1973 to 1992.

Beyond Gelman Library

See the Find Local Resources and Web Resources tabs for links to local repositories including the National Anthropological Archives (NAA), the Smithsonian Institution Libraries, the National Museum of Natural History Department of Anthropology, and the American Folklife Center.

Check out ArchiveGrid as well. ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids. You may be surprised. Primary sources related to anthropology may be found in repositories that do not strictly collect anthropological materials.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu