Skip to main content

Anthropology

Resources for those doing research in the area of anthropology

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures  Macmillan Reference USA, 1996
Online.  This set lists and describes more than 1500 global cultures.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics Oxford University Press, 2003
Online.  The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.

The following are hardcopy reference works available at Gelman Library:: 

Encyclopedia of Archaeology   
Location: REF CC 70 .E53 2008 2nd Floor 
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

Concise Dictionary of Cultural and Social Anthropology   Wiley-Blackwell, 2012
Location: GN307 .M67 2012 (stacks)
A hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms the student of anthropology and the general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature.

Countries and their Cultures
Location: REF GN 307 .C68 2001 2nd Floor 
The focus of Countries and their cultures is on the countries around the world, what is and what is not commonly shared culturally by the people who live in the country.

Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art
Location: REF GR 35 .F63 1997 2nd Floor 
In over 240 in-depth articles, this scholarly dictionary illuminates the historical and contemporary form, figures, and fields of folklore.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore & Folklife
Location: REF GR 35 .G75 2006 2nd Floor
Topics and themes by geographic region; 4 vols.

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu