Skip to main content

Anthropology

Resources for those doing research in the area of anthropology

Useful web sites

Ethnologue Database
Maintained by: Summer Institute of Linguistics, Inc.
The Ethnologue Database is taken from a print publication Ethnologue: Languages of the world. Contains information on some 6,700 languages spoken in the world, including alternate names, number of speakers, location, dialects, linguistic affiliation, and other sociolinguistic and demographic data. The data can be accessed by country or territory name, language or dialect name and through a language family tree.

National Archaeological Database
Maintained by: Archeology and Ethnography Program, National Park Service and the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies (CAST) at the University of Arkansas.
It is a computerized communications network for the archeological and historic preservation community, an internationally recognized source of information on public archeology.

National Anthropological Archives (NAA)
Maintained by: Smithsonian Institution.
"The National Anthropological Archives collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of the discipline." The NAA site is an excellent means to accomplish the first stage of anthropological archival research from a remote location.

Smithsonian Institution Libraries
"The Smithsonian's library collections contain over 1.2 million volumes, including 15,000 journal titles, rare books and manuscripts. SIL collections are particularly strong in natural history, tropical biology, and Chesapeake Bay area ecology; Anthropology; American and African American history and culture; postal, horticulture and garden history; the history of science and technology; aerospace history, astronomy, and planetary sciences; African, American Asian, contemporary, and design and decorative art; conservation science, and museum studies."

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu