Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News Resources in English
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1941-1996)
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
North China Herald
The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.
Selections from China mainland magazines (SCMM)
This contains translated articles from China magazine from 1955 to 1979. It is located in the Gelman storage. However, the Index is available in the CDC references section. To request specific issues, please contact the GRC front desk staff.
Survey of China Mainland Press (SCMP)
This serial contains translated major news items from China by the US Consulate General in Hong Kong from 1950 to 1979. It is located in the Gelman storage. However, the Index is available in the CDC references section. To request specific issues, please contact the GRC front desk staff.
Chinese Electronic News Resources
China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库
Includes full text and/or full image articles from 2,000+ journals published in China. GW subscription covers the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
China Core Newspapers Full-text Database 中国重要报纸全文数据库
With an archive beginning in 2000, this database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers in China. GW's subscription includes the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
Shen Bao (申报)
The Shen Bao (申报, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer.