Skip to main content

Contemporary Russian Politics: From the WEB

Focuses on research tools for study of contemporary Russian politics with emphasis on issues of elections, foreign relations, ethnicity, nationalism and terrorism.

Russia in facts and numbers

CIA's Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947-1991

was published in 2001 by the Center for the Study of Intelligence.

CIA: Russian Government

CIA: World Fact Book: Russia

US Department of State: Background Notes: Russia

Library of Congress Country Studies: Library of Congress Political Handbook of the World
Description and analysis of the historical setting and social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions

Europa Plus
provides detailed surveys of Russia,
containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data, also provides analytical essays.

Important Russia-related sites

EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies)

Database containing 85,000+ records, 1991--2007

Best Russian Websites
rich site of Russian resources from University of Iowa

REESWEB 
WWW Virtual Library for Russian & East European Studies from University of Pittsburgh

SRAS in Russia
A mega-site from School of Russian and Asian Studies from University of Texas

Russian maps
Russia and FSU Maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library from University of Texas

Russia news and commentary sites

News and commentary in English:
Johnson's Russia List
A famous daily digest of Russia-related articles from Russian & non-Russian press
RFE/RL Newsline 
(RadioFreeEurope/RadioLiberty)
BBC News: Russia: Country profile
Contains links to essential Russian media outlets
RT Russia Today 
Russian TV news service in English
Russia News.Net
Provides daily headlines, news links on variety of subjects
InterFax
An oldest post-Soviet independent news agency
Moscow Times 
A site of Moscow English language daily paper
St. Petersburg Times
A site of St. Petersburg English language daily paper
Russia in Global Affairs 
Analytical on line magazine in English

News and commentary in Russian:
BBC NEWS Russian Service

VOA: Voice of America: Russian Service

Kommersant.ru
Site of leading Russian economics and politics magazine
Lenta.ru 
Major Russian on-line news site
Gazeta.ru 
Major Russian on-line news site
Pochta.ru
Major Russian on-line news site
Russian State Duma
Official information site

Subject Guide

Google Scholar by topic

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu