Research Guides: Middle East and North Africa: Blogs, Podcasts and News Sources

Library News Databases

These are collections of news sources that contain international content. If you are accessing them off-campus, you will need to log in.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to over 528 million current and archived articles from thousands of global and U.S. news sources, most only available through this resources. Each source provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded. Search interface includes a world map.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Excellent source for foreign news. Allows searching in Arabic and Persian (not Turkish or Hebrew), but you MUST check the box of the language you want on the search page if you want results in that language. English only is the default.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current and archival content from over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series.
MidEast Wire This link opens in a new window
Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.

Middle East Newspapers by Country(A-M)

Algeria

Algerian Newspapers and News Sites. This list of news sites is a directory of the main national and local newspapers for Algeria. Some titles listed have an online presence as well as a print

Bahrain

Al-Ayam الايام In Arabic.

Daily Tribune is one of the leading English newspapers of Bahrain, the second English daily after Gulf Daily News.

Egypt

Al-Ahram الأهرام The most widely circulating Egyptian daily newspaper.

Alakhbar الأخبار ‎An Arabic daily newspaper based in Egypt. It is a state-owned semi-official newspaper.

Iran

Donyaye Eqtesad دنياى اقتصاد One of the most widely circulated Iranian newspapers, published in Persian. It covers economic news, industry, oil and energy, business, bank and insurance, automotive, shareholders, digital market, analytical comments, commerce and tourism, the Tehran Stock exchange, and agriculture.

Islamic Republic News Agency (IRNA) خبرگزاری جمهوری اسلامی ایران IRNA is the official news agency of the Islamic Republic of Iran. It is government-funded and controlled by the Iranian Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance. The agency also publishes the newspaper Iran.

Tehran Times Iran's leading international daily, The Tehran Times has become a reliable news source for hundreds of foreign media outlets as well as envoys from different countries based in Tehran, who read it to learn about the country’s current events.

Iraq

Iraqi newspapers and news sites

Israel

Globes Israel's leading and widely circulated business and financial newspaper published in Hebrew. The English version of the newspaper is also available.

Haaretz (English edition) Israel's oldest daily newspaper. Also published in Hebrew.

Jerusalem Post Israeli daily English-language newspaper, founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post.

Jordan

Al-Dustour الدستور In Arabic

The Jordan Times In English

Kurdistan

Kurdistan Newspapers and News Sites List of Kurdistan online newspapers and news sources in English.

The Kurdish Globe is the first English-language newspaper published in Erbil, Kurdistan, northern Iraq. It focuses primarily on Kurdish issues ranging from politics to culture, as well as Middle East-related issues and politics.

Kuwait

Kuwait News Agency (KUNA) وكالة الأنباء الكويتية Kuwait News Agency (KUNA) وكالة الأنباء الكويتية lists daily news and events in Kuwait, the Gulf, the Arab World, and the world.

Lebanon

As-Safir السفير Lebanese online journal.

Eyoon عيون Provides links to multiple Arabic language news websites.

Morocco

HESPRESS is the first Moroccan online newspaper

Maghreb Intelligence Le site est édité par Global Media Strategic Consulting, société basée à Rabat.

Morocco Online Newspapers for information on local issues, politics, events, celebrations, people and business.

Middle East Newspapers by Country (N-Z)

Oman

Al-Watan Voice of Oman to the World. Arabic.

Times of Oman English.

'Uman Newspaper Daily newspaper in Arabic.

Palestine

Al-Quds القدس Arabic.

Government Press Releases Official press releases from the Palestinian Prime Minister's office.

Qatar

Al Raya الراية

Al Sharq الشرق

Saudi Arabia

Al Ittihad الاتحاد In Arabic.

Asharq Alawsat الشرق الاوسط The premier pan-Arab daily newspaper, printed simultaneously on four continents in 12 cities.

Syria

Syrian Newspapers (الصحف السورية)

Tunisia

Alchourouk الشروق

Turkey

Turkish newspapers and news sites

Agos Online

United Arab Emirates

Al Khaleej الخليج The oldest paper in the country

Yemen

Yemen Post Yemen's First Hourly Updated Independent English News Website. English.

Al-Monitor - The Pulse of the Middle East

General MENA Newspapers

Al-Monitor
is a trusted and award-winning independent source of Middle East news and analysis
Al Ahram Weekly
Al Ahram Weekly is English language weekly serving the Arab world with a selection of commentary.
Al Bawaba البوابة
is a news, blogging and media website headquartered in Amman, Jordan. Al Bawaba publishes news stories related to the Middle East. It has separate English and Arabic sections.
Al Jazeera الجزيرة بالانجليزي
is an international news network headquartered in Doha, Qatar with several outlets, including the Internet and specialty TV channels in multiple languages.
ArabianBusiness.com
ArabianBusiness.com is region's premier resource for business, financial & industry news. Also features review of Middle East newspapers.
Arabic Media
Arabic Media provides links to online news sources. Search by country feature.
Arab News عرب نيوز
is Saudi Arabian online Journal, the Middle East's leading English language daily.
Daily News & Economic Review
Daily News & Economic Review is Turkey's first and largest circulation English daily.
Daily Star
Daily Star is a pan-Middle East English language newspaper edited in Beirut. It is one of the leading English-language Internet newspapers in the Middle East.
The Gulf Project
This site was developed by the Gulf/2000 Project at the School of International and Public Affairs of Columbia University in New York City. It provides information on Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.
HESPRESS
Hespress is the first Moroccan electronic newspaper.
Islam Tribune
is a not for profit, non-religious online magazine published in the US, offering analysis of national and international news and makes available a forum for Islamic views and opposing viewpoints. It provides an opportunity for a dialogue between Muslims, and Jews, Christians and people of other faiths.
The Jerusalem Media and Commmunications Centre(JMCC)
The Jerusalem Media and Commmunications Centre(JMCC) features the latest news and opinion on Palestine and Israel.
The Jerusalem Post
The Jerusalem Post is Israel's best selling English daily.
The Middle East Materials Project (MEMP)
The Middle East Materials Project (MEMP) preserves collections in digital and microform format of unique, rare, hard to obtain, and often expensive research material for Middle East studies
Washington Report on Middle East Affairs
Washington Report on Middle East Affairs is information concerning U.S. relations with Middle Eastern states from magazine with anti-Israeli slant.

Blogs and Podcasts

BBC News Middle East RSS Feed
This is an RSS feed from the BBC News - Middle East website. RSS feeds allow you to stay up to date with the latest news and features you want from BBC News - Middle East.
CAMES - Center for Arab & Middle Eastern Studies
The Youtube channel for CAMES. CAMES' goal is to enhance the understanding of the Middle East and encourage informed scholarship on the region in all academic disciplines.
Dr. Ted Swedenburg Music Blog
Dr. Ted Swedenburg at the University of Arkansas has spent his career researching popular music from the MENA region. His blog is a treasure trove of links, videos, and information.
Foreign Policy Blog on Middle East
This blog is written by Marc Lynch, associate professor of Political Science and International Affairs at George Washington University.
From the Field - Richard August Norton
Excursions on the Middle East, politics, the Levant, Islam in politics, civil society, and courage in the face of unbridled, otherwise unchecked power.
From the Potomac to the Euphrates
Steven Cook's observations and analysis of developments in the Middle East and their resonance in Washington
Informed Comment - Juan Cole
Daily commentary on political and military developments in the Middle East with an occasional look home at American politics.
Jillian C. York
Jillian C. York writes about free expression, politics, and the Internet, with particular focus on the Arab world.
Lobe Log
Since 9/11, Lobe has focused much of his coverage on U.S. policy in the Middle East and the influence of neo-conservatives in and on the Bush administration.
Middle East & North Africa Blogs
Latest blog posts on MENA region.
The Middle East Centre, University of Oxford Podcast
Podcasts on research in the humanities and social sciences with direct reference to the Arab world, Iran, Israel and Turkey, with particular emphasis on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Middle East Focus
Middle East Focus is a weekly podcast featuring discussion and analysis on U.S. foreign policy and contemporary political and social issues in the Middle East.
Nawaat
A Tunisian blog that consists of both English and French content.
The North Africa Post
Blogs, Community, Headlines on Maghreb issues.
Ottoman History Podcast
An alternative blog that boasts a suite of internet projects dedicated to presenting various historical materials and discussion with the Ottoman Empire as its focus.
POMEPS Conversations
Podcast from Project on Middle East Political Science.
Project on Middle East Political Science
Blog and event videos from Project on Middle East Political Science
TCF World Podcast
The Century Foundation (TCF) is a progressive think tank that seeks to foster opportunity, reduce inequality, and promote security at home and abroad.
Voices of the Middle East and North Africa, KPFA Podcast
The richly diverse and fascinating world of culture and politics of the Middle East and North Africa, exploring the complex web of class, gender, ethnic, religious and regional differences which separate and distinguish the ways of life and political and ideological perspectives of people in that part of the world.

Historical Newspapers

Al-Quds Newspaper
The Center for Palestine Studies (CPS) at Columbia has launched, in conjunction with the Institute for Palestine Studies in Ramallah, the archives of this forgotten gem over a century after its birth in Jerusalem. Established in 1908 by Jurji Habib Hanania (1864-1920), al-Quds became the first privately owned public daily newspaper in Palestine.
Alphabetical List of Open Access Historical Newspapers & Periodicals
Alphabetical List of Open Access Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals in Middle East & Islamic Studies.
Jrayed: Arabic Newspapers of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine
Digitized versions of the National Library of Israel's Arabic periodicals collection, ranging from 1908-1948.
Nashriyah: Digital Iranian History
Historical newspapers from three critical periods of Iranian history, digitized and freely accessible from the University of Manchester.