Research Guides: Middle East and North Africa: Israel-Palestine Conflict

Online Resources

UN “The question of Palestine”
The website is dedicated to the UN investigation of Palestine issue since 1947.
The Arab-Israel Conflict in Maps
Provided by the Jewish Agency for Israel.
The Electronic Intifada
The Electronic Intifada (EI) publishes news, commentary, analysis, and reference materials about the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict from a Palestinian perspective.
Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs
This site contains official documents and news from the Israeli government's perspective. Updated daily.
Palestinian Prime Minister's Office
Official press releases from the Palestinian Prime Minister's office.
Israel Must Stop Weaponizing the Holocaust
Scholars of genocide are criticizing the dangerous use of the Holocaust to justify Israeli mass violence against Palestinians.

Theatre and the Israel-Palestine Conflict : Identity, Resistance and Contested Narratives by Azza Harras

The Palestinian Exploration Fund
The PEF’s Documentary and Map archives are a unique resource for scholars of diverse disciplines. The archive is especially valuable to those conducting research on late 19th and early 20th century history and society, both in Britain and Palestine. It is also an important resource for those researching the people, landscape and resources of Palestine during this period.

Selected News Articles

"There's Only One Way to End Hamas' Grip on Power," Op-Ed in Haaretz, January 30, 2024

“Killing People Around the Clock”: Dr. Mustafa Barghouti & Muhammad Shehada on 6 Months of War on Gaza, Democracy Now, 8 April, 2024

"What’s Required to Revive the PLO?" Al-Shabaka- The Palestinian Policy Network, January 10, 2024

"To negotiate with Israel, Palestine needs political unity," Op-Ed / Middle East & North Africa, 09 September 2024

"Gaza War Moves Close to Its Next Phase, but No Nearer to an End," The Wall Street Journal, June 24, 2024

"Any attempt to run Gaza like the West Bank will fail – and Hamas will benefit," Op-Ed / Middle East & North Africa, December 07, 2023

"World Within a Fence: A special report.; Palestinians in Gaza Find Freedom's Joy Has Limits," The New York Times, 25 August, 1995

"Israel arming criminal gangs in Gaza in bid to 'sow chaos': Report," Middle East Eye, 30 August, 2024

"Israel Continues to Evade Accountability After Mawasi Massacre," Democracy Now, 15 July, 2024

Documentary: 1948 Creation and Catastrophe

1948: Creation & Catastrophe
1948 Creation & Catastrophe reveals the shocking events of the most pivotal year in the most controversial conflict in the world.

Al-Nakba: 1948 Palestinian Exodus: Home
The guide was created in support of The Palestinian Oral History Archives Project at AUB Libraries. The guide focuses on the various aspects of historiography of 1948 Palestinian Nakba and highlights selective library resources, projects and websites.

Why Gaza Is Now a DEATH CAMP

Document Collections

United Nations Resolutions on Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict by Jody Boudreault (Editor)
Call Number: JX1977.2.P34 U575 1987
ISBN: 0887282407
Publication Date: 1993-06-01

UNISPAL United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine
Database of UN documents on the question of Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online Series 1 This link opens in a new window
This database provides searchable, primary source documents held by the National Archives, Kew (U.K.) that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab Israeli conflict.
British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944 This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem pertaining to the protection of interests of American citizens,foreign trade, shipping, and immigration.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Political diaries of the Arab World: Palestine and Jordan This link opens in a new window
The various different types of report gathered together in this Cambridge Archive Editions collection, ranging from 1920-1965, capture in great detail the convulsions wrought within the old land area of Palestine by the agreements at the end of the World War I, in particular the Balfour Declaration of 2 November 1917; the Anglo-French Declaration of 7 November 1918 and the recommendations of the King-Crane Commission of 28 August 1919.

Movies

US and the Palestinian Issue

Denying the Nakba, 75 Years Later: A Democracy in Exile Roundtable
The United States and the United Kingdom are among the many countries that will not recognize the Nakba.
Five things the United States knew about the Nakba as it unfolded
The attempt by members of Congress to minimize the dimension of the Palestine refugee issue and negate refugee rights.

Websites

Israel/Palestine Center for Research and Information (IPCRI)
Founded in Jerusalem in 1988, it is the only joint Israeli-Palestinian public policy think-tank in the world and is devoted to developing practical solutions for the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
The Palestine Poster Project Archives (PPPA)
The Palestine Poster Project Archives (PPPA) collects and archives posters, handbills, other paper ephemera, and also digital image files. The archives includes not only Palestinian posters, but also international posters.
Palestinian Refugee Research Net (PRRN)
Canada based non-partisan project devoted to the dissemination of ideas and scholarly information, in an effort to foster scholarly collaboration, policy research, and innovative thinking on the Palestinian refugee issue.

The Encyclopedia Palestinnica

Encyclopædia Palestinnica
The encyclopedia Palestinnica is the largest documented academic work on Palestine, and has been described as the most important work during the last hundred years. It has (24) volumes in 7000 pages. It contains thousands of documents, photographs, maps, illustrations, and samples of stamps used in signing agreements and contracts in addition to the primary archival materials published for the first time.

Periodicals

Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An index of English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories on Jewish history, thought and activity from more than 160 journals on Jewish affairs. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

Selected Books

Light in Gaza: Writings Born of Fire

The Biggest Prison on Earth by Ilan Pappe
Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Gaza: An Inquest into Its Martyrdom by Norman Finkelstein
ISBN: 0520318331
Publication Date: 2021-07-27
The Hundred Years' War on Palestine by Rashid Khalidi
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Married to Another Man by Karmi, Ghada
Publication Date: 2007
Rifqa by Mohammed El-Kurd; aja monet (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2021-10-12

Comics on Crisis in America and Israel

This, the first full-scale anthology of Valley's art, provides an essential retrospective of America and Israel at a turning point. With meticulously detailed line work and a richly satirical palette peppered with perseverating turtles, xenophobic Jedi knights, sputtering superheroes, mutating golems and zombie billionaires, Valley's comics unmask the hypocrisy and horror behind the headlines.

Middle East and North Africa: Israel-Palestine Conflict