Research Guides: Middle East and North Africa: Home

Search at Gelman Library

Library Database Search
To find specific books, articles, journals, and newspapers start with Gelman Library Databases or one of our more subject-specific databases / indexes.
Middle East and North Africa Research Center (MENA)
To find literature sources in the MENA collections, start by searching the Gelman Library Catalog. Other materials such as maps, films / DVDs, archival collections, manuscripts, and journal and newspaper titles are available at the Global Resources Center (GRC)

Romanization Table

Viewpoints & Analysis

When Do Protests Succeed? The Case of Iran and the Arab World

The Iranian Revolution of the Women, by the Women, for the People

Middle Eastern, North African, and Islamic Studies Specialist

Amal Cavender, PhD

Gelman Library

Global Resources Center, Room 708

Major Databases at Gelman Library

Al- Manhal
Al Manhal is a major full-text searchable database of scholarly and analytical publications from the Middle East, Africa, and Asia. Material is in Arabic and in English. Includes ebooks, peer-reviewed journals, theses, and think tank publications
Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online
Brockelmann in English Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) Also, offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research.
Historical Abstract with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. (With links to full-text where available.)
Middle East and Africa Database
Features ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the countries of these regions. Subject areas include business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
(MECAS) Bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
Qurʾānic Studies Online
Qur’ānic Studies Online is a set of three encyclopaedic dictionaries of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies.

Citation Resources

Citation Style Guide
This guide provides information on the major forms of citation styles.
Cite a YouTube video (MLA, APA, Chicago) | Citation Machine
Learn how to cite a YouTube video in MLA format, APA format, and Chicago style.
Citing a Blog
This is an online citation generator shows how to cite a blog in MLA, APA and Chicago Style. For more information and accuracy, refer to writing style and citation guides.
Citing a Podcast
This is an online blog shows how to cite a podcast in MLA, APA and Chicago Style. For more accuracy and information, refer to writing style and citation guides.
WID Studio- Faculty
A platform for online resources on teaching writing and research.
Writing Style and Citation Guides
GWU tools and resources for all citation formats.