If you are off campus, log into the GW VPN before searching. Use gwvpn.gwu.edu to connect.
A Virtual Private Network (VPN) creates a secure and encrypted connection between your device and the GW server. This connection essentially makes your computer behave as though you were on GW campus, which allows more seamless access to GW resources and fewer single sign-on prompts.
Schedule an appointment with a research librarian to help you find databases and articles: https://library.gwu.edu/consultation-services
We have many resources, including short video tutorials, available at https://library.gwu.edu/how-do-i
Some examples include:
Schedule a free 30-minute appointment with a research librarian (both virtual and in-person options available).
GWU Library databases: https://libguides.gwu.edu/databases
*If you are off campus, log into the GW VPN before searching. Use gwvpn.gwu.edu to conne
ct.
It can be helpful to start broad. For example, Academic Search Complete will include a lot of information from a variety of sources. If you already have a relevant source, you may also want to search by journal name to identify the databases that contain that journal.
Which database is right for me? We have some suggestions but this is not a comprehensive list!
Another way to select a database is to start by searching multiple databases. Then, identify the databases that contain the most relevant information to your specific conceptual framework.
You can also start with a relevant journal and find out what library databases contain information about that journal. To do this, use the search bar on the library homepage (https://library.gwu.edu/ ). Select Journal Title, and search for the journal. Select the journal from the search results. Scroll to View Online and identify the databases that contain this information. You can also view what issues are available in each database.
Once you have selected a database, it’s time to search! Here are a few helpful hints.
First, when searching library databases, identify a few keywords that are associated with your conceptual framework. Searching a database is different from a Google search – too much information will yield poor results!
You can combine search terms in different ways:
This is a good place to select options such as only Peer Reviewed articles, or to restrict a date range.
Google Scholar can help perform very broad searches. This is excellent if you are not sure exactly what you are looking for, or if you are not limited to a particular type of resource (e.g., you are interested in articles, whitepapers, books, news). The library's databases are curated, meaning they include only information relevant to a particular topic, and often do not include books. Each type of search has its place, depending on your research goals.
Before you use Google Scholar, set My Library so you have immediate access to articles that GW holds. You will still need the GW VPN for this function if you are off campus.
