UW1020: Writing for Social Change

Online off-shoot of American University's student paper

News from Anacostia and Wards 7 & 8 of Washington, DC.

Online version of the free daily paper, distributed throughout the D.C. area and at many metro entrances.

The GW Hatchet is an editorially and financially independent student newspaper serving The George Washington University community in downtown Washington, D.C. First published Oct. 5, 1904, it is the second-oldest continuously published newspaper in the District, after The Washington Post. The Hatchet publishes a print edition on Monday and an email edition every Thursday during the academic year.

A Capitol Hill-focused nonpartisan newspaper, first distributed in 1994.

The Hill Rag is a community newspaper based in Washington, D.C.'s Capitol Hill neighborhood. It is published monthly. In addition to Capitol Hill, it provides coverage of the Southwest Waterfront, H Street Northeast, and Navy Yard neighborhoods. The Hill Rag is owned by Capital Community News Inc., one of the largest publishing firms of community-based publications in the United States, which also owns several other DC newspapers and publications.

Newspaper based in Arlington, VA with an emphasis on politics and political issues. Launched in 2007 by two former Washington Post editors.

Punchbowl News is a membership-based news community founded by journalists and best-selling authors Jake Sherman and Anna Palmer, and co-founded by veteran Capitol Hill reporter John Bresnahan. Punchbowl is the Secret Service nickname for the Capitol. Our credo is Power, People, Politics.

The "newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955," Roll Call reports legislative and political news, with a special focus on Washington D.C.

A lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) newspaper for the D.C. metro area. Founded in 1969, it is one of the oldest LGBT newspapers in the United States.

D.C.'s local business journal, published by the American City Business Journals newspaper chain. Includes news, as well as directory information for many local businesses.

An alternative weekly paper for the D.C. metropolitan area. Founded in 1981 and distributed in print on Thursdays.

Breaking news, live coverage of US politics, foreign affairs, economics, and more from the Washington Examiner. Objective news, conservative opinion.

Online extension of the regional magazine, targeted at residences of D.C., Virginia, and Maryland. Contains news, events information, and feature stories.

DC's largest daily newspaper and one of its most respected. Its local news targets D.C., Virginia, and Maryland.

A daily D.C. newspaper and local competitor to the Washington Post. Known for its more conservative social and political leanings.

Information from the White House's official website about the President's latest events and public statements. Contains photos, video, and blogs, as well as more traditional press releases.

A city-centric blog operated by Gothamist LLC.

Unofficial yet formidable directory of hundreds of D.C.-based blogs, divided by content category.

D.C. political gossip blog, previously affiliated with Gawker Media.