Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia, combining Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies and relevant contributions from the Child Development and Adolescent Studies and Family and Society Studies Worldwide databases.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records for articles from major journals added since 2001 also include lists of works cited.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender. LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Includes Parts l & ll. Part I brings together primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Part ll highlights marginalized groups—even within the LGBTQ community—and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism through access to key publications.
Dacheng pre-1949 journals full-text database (大成 老旧刊全文数据库) This link opens in a new window
Consists of approximately 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from 1830 to 1949 in all fields of knowledge as well as popular journals. A unique and valuable source for the studies of Chinese politics, history, culture, society, philosophy, literature and arts in that period.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Database will contain, when complete, over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents, enabling researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Section I (now available) examines cultural contacts throughout five centuries of Empire, from Columbus to decolonization. It draws upon sources such as diaries and eyewitness accounts of European travelers, correspondence and periodical literature.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting research on gender studies and the Islamic world. Useful for researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Lily, The: A Temperance and Abolitionist Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from "The Lily, A ladies' journal devoted to temperance and literature," issued from 1849 until 1853. The newspaper began as a temperance journal, but gradually began to include articles about other subjects of interest to women, many from the pen of social activist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (pseudonym: "sunflower").
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, business, law and more. Journal coverage, spanning from 1887 to present, includes international material.
Qualitative Data Repository This link opens in a new window Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion.
Women's Magazine Archive (I & II) This link opens in a new window
Contains retrospective coverage of 19th and 20th-century consumer magazines aimed at a female readership: Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country, WIN News, and Woman's Day.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
This collection traces the path of women’s issues through the nineteen and twentieth centuries—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive backfile of Women’s Wear Daily from its inception in 1910 forward, this database provides a wealth of information to researchers and students of fashion, marketing, and the retail business as well as supporting inquiry into women’s studies and 20th century material culture.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text primary materials documenting various movements and events in the history of women's social reform activities. Sources include documents, images, and books, and are organized around topical document projects.
Ask a Librarian