Learning Objectives for this module include listing databases that you encounter in daily life; describing what a library database is and the types of materials it contains; and locating three library databases on the GW Libraries website.
Learn how to distinguish between a general and a subject library database; match information needs and search strategies to appropriate subject databases; and compare the results of a search in a general database vs. a subject specific database.
In this tutorial you will learn how to conduct a keyword search in the library catalog, identify important parts of a catalog record, use subject headings to find additional books on your topic, and access the books you discovered.
This tutorial is designed to provide you with a basic understanding of archival and primary source research: what is a primary source, types of primary sources, and a basic introduction to reading primary sources.
This database provides access to LGBTQ+ studies scholarship, popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus.
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia, combining Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies and relevant contributions from the Child Development and Adolescent Studies and Family and Society Studies Worldwide databases.
Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields. To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add us.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
America: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
A database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing, designed for diverse users including film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. It also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, business, law and more. Journal coverage, spanning from 1887 to present, includes international material.
Full text access to 1700+ sociological journals and books, conference proceedings, working papers with abstracting for additional titles with coverage back to 1895. Searchable cited references are included.
Univ. of California librarian Sherri Barnes has created this extensive bibliography of works dealing with Black American feminism, from the antislavery and women's rights movements of the 19th century to the present. The bibliography "documents and validates an intellectual tradition that is continuously ghettoized within Black studies, women's studies and society as a whole." Sections include Arts & Humanities; Social Sciences; Education; Health, Medicine, and Science; (Auto)biography; Interviews; Speeches; Multidisciplinary Anthologies; Periodicals; and Web Sites.
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press with the sponsorship of the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives both American and within the global American Studies movement.
The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting research on gender studies and the Islamic world. Useful for researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.