Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to search English articles in Japanese newspapers
Japanese Newspaper Subscriptions Online
Asahi Shimbun Onrain Kiji Detabesu (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) This link opens in a new window
Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
Mainichi Shimbun (Maisaku) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 6 million articles from the Mainich Shimbun and precursor titles from 1872
Nikkei Telecom21 (日経テレコン21) This link opens in a new window
Major database from Japan focusing on business and economics. Some titles available from 1876. Content in Japanese from a wide variety of national, local and technical newspapers, statistical and corporate sources. Content in English is from major Nikkei publications and national newspapers (Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi) as well as from major newspapers in Singapore (The Straits Times, The Business Times), Malaysia (New Straits Times, Business Times Malaysia, Bernama News), Indonesia (The Jakarta Post, Antara News), Vietnam (Viet Nam News), Thailand (Bangkok Post), Mongolia (Montsame Daily News), Taiwan (Want China Times, Focus Taiwan), China (People’s Daily Online) and Korea (Maeil Business Newspaper, Korea JoongAng Daily) among others.
Yomiuri Online (Yomidas Rekishikan) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to present, the Daily Yomiuri & its English equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Full-text searching is available from Sept. 1986 to present.
English Newspaper Subscriptions Online
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current and archival content from over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series.
New! The Japan Times Archives
Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2018.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Washington Post (Historical,1877-1999) This link opens in a new window
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
Local Newspapers in Okinawa Online
- Ishigaki Keizai Shimbun / 石垣経済新聞 (Japanese) Business & culture news in Yaeyama region
- Yaeyama Mainichi Shimbun / 八重山毎日新聞 (Japanese) Cover all the news in Yaeyama Islands
- Yaeyama Nippō / 八重山日報 (Japanese) One of the few conservative newspapers in Okinawa
- Ryūkyū Shimpō / 琉球新報 (English / Japanese) Established in 1893. The oldest Okinawan newspaper. YouTube Channel
- Okinawa Times / 沖縄タイムス(English / Japanese) Established in 1948. Okinawa Times and Ryūkyū Shimpō are the two major newspapers in Okinawa. YouTube Channel
- Miyako Mainichi Shimbun / 宮古毎日新聞 (Japanese) Business & culture news in Miyako Island
- Miyako Shimpō / 宮古新報 (Japanese) News on politics, economy, culture & sports in Miyako Island
- Stripes Okinawa (English) a newpaper serving U.S. military community in Okinawa
Major Japanese Newspapers Online