Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Through consortium loan or interlibrary loan, you can request books that Gelman Library does not hold
Consortium Loan Service
Submit requests for books and articles not owned by Gelman. Here is a detailed procedure on how to request books from a consortium library.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service available to current GW students, faculty members and staff to obtain material not owned by any of the GW libraries or Washington Research Libraries Consortium (WRLC) libraries. You need to log in to use this service. Here is a step-by-step direction on how to request items through this service.
Find Books outside WRLC (GW Holders/Onsite Access database)
You can't find a book you need in WRLC catalog? There are ways to find which institutions in the U.S. and other countries have books, journals and articles you are looking for.
Find Books in Open-Access English Databases
Find Books Open-Access Databases in Japanese
National Diet Library (NDL) Online Public Access Catalog / 国立国会図書館サーチ
- This integrated search service makes it possible to search for catalogs and digital archives including public libraries, archives, museums, academic institutes and the National Diet Library. Searchable in four languages (Chinese, Korean, English and Japanese).
- To use NDL-OPAC
(Open Public Access Cagatlog), you need a registered user ID.
- NDL-OPAC is a search AND request system. To use only for search function, go to Simple Search
Webcat Plus is a union catalog of Japanese academic libraries provided by the National Institute of Informatics, which includes publications from the Edo Period to present.
Webcat Plus integrates the catalogs of 1,000 Japanese universities Japan, the NDL's catalog, covers of recent publications, inventory of second-hand bookstores and e-books databases.
OPAC List of Libraries in Japan / 日本国内図書館OPACリスト (up to
- Site available only up to February 28, 2017.
- Lists of online catalogs of libraries in Japan complied by Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Research Information Center.
Special Lirary OPAC Search / 専門図書館蔵書目録検索
Provides links to OPACs of special libraries in Japan based on subjects.
Japanese Web OPACs Library Catalog Search
You can search books by Japanese and World regions, by keywords, by Vendor, with Mobile interface etc.