Research Guides: Company Information: Find Company Profiles, Official Documents, and Analyses

Background and Financial Information

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on companies (including, in part, descriptions of products and services offered and financial statements and ratios)..
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides information on companies going back many years. These are digitized versions of the Moody's/Mergent Manuals which the library also has in paper.

EDGAR PLUS
Contains filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission from 1994.
Corporate Annual Reports at the Library of Congress
This guide includes inventories identifying corporate annual reports available for use at the Library of Congress as well as additional subscription databases and other sources for corporate annual reports.

Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Over 800 companies' annual reports available through searchable pdf images. The collection includes digital reproductions of over 1.3 million pages found in more than 43,000 reports. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date.
Compustat This link opens in a new window
Location: Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
This sophisticated database provides detailed financial data (but no text) on thousands of companies throughout the world whose stock is traded publicly.
George Washington University faculty members and graduate students may set up individual accounts. George Washington University faculty members may also set up accounts for their classes. In order to request a WRDS account at no cost to you, please go to http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/ .

Plunkett
This is available on the ABI Inform database. Type Plunkett in the top box and change the box to publication title. Type the company name in the box below and change the box to the right to.company/organization.

Investext (Mergent Online) This link opens in a new window
Investext, now available through Mergent Online, provides the full text of stock brokerage reports on individual companies and on industries. A short video that explains how to find company and industry research reports on Investext can be found here.
IBES Academic (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Provides both summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations. Users must create a WRDS account. See Wharton Research Data Services for more information.

Marketline SWOT Analysis
This is available on the Business Source Ultimate database. Type the name of the company in the top box and change the box to the right to Company Entity. Type marketline in the second box and change the box to the right to all text. Type swot in the third box and change the box to the right to subject terms. The default setting is to sort by relevance but this can be changed to date newest or date oldest.
Zacks Equity Research
Available via Nexis Uni, this provides qualitative equity research reports for over 1,100 U.S. and Canadian publicly traded companies. Once in Nexis Uni, type Zacks Equity.Research in the search box, indicate in the date box what time period you wish to search, and click the red search button on the right.