Research Guides: Race, American Medicine, and Public Health: African American Experiences: Find Data by Type

Sources by Type

Data Archives
Resources that collect, share, and preserve data.
Data Portals
Resources that pull together content from data archives, publications, and databases.
GIS
Find resources for geospacial data and software
Social Media Data
Specialized support for social media research provided by experts at GW Libraries
Statistics Resources
Find resources for searching statistics and data-driven research articles

Data archives collect, share, and preserve data.

Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository primarily holds data from ecology and biology but accepts data submissions of many formats and from many disciplines. Generally, it is a resource for making data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.
figshare
figshare is a data repository that allows user to search and discover scientific data.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research. Create an account with your GW credentials to access data via our university membership.
Odum Institute Data Archive
The Odum Institute Data Archive houses machine readable data including national and international economic, electoral, demographic, financial, health, public opinion and other types of data.
Zenodo
Zenodo is a repository for the long-tail of science that allows researchers to search, share, and preserve any research data in any format and from any discipline.

Data portals pull together content from data archives, publications, and databases.

Data.gov
Data.gov collects US open government data from multiple sources into one searchable location.
Data Citation Index
Data Citation Index indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.
DataOne
DataOne allows users to search across multiple repositories for scientific data.
re3data.org
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
UN Data
UN Data contains data from a variety of themes and resources collected into one searchable database.

Opportunity Insights
Cleaned and structured data, replication code, course materials, and papers available for policymakers, civic leaders, and educators. Topics include: National Trends, Neighborhoods, Education, and Racial Disparities. Data provenance is not provided for many of these data sets, so they may not be appropriate for scientific publication.

SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from real research projects, but edited and cleaned for teaching purposes. Each dataset is accompanied by a short, clear narrative description of the data and easy-to-follow instructions on how to apply the research method.

Statistics reference resources pull together statistics from multiple sources and allow you to search across them in one location.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
(Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical.) ProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to statistics on a wide variety of topics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental and international organizations.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Published from 1878 until 2012, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States

Structure for this page was adapted from NYU's Data & Statistics Research Guide.