Race, American Medicine, and Public Health: African American Experiences

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.

This database provides full-text access to articles from a number of historic African American newspapers, beginning in 1827 with Freedom's Journal. The collection contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and offers first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The Historical Chicago Defender (1909-1975), an influential, historical African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Proquest collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875; 1881-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Korea Times (1950-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), The New York Times (1857-2019), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950; 1955-1966), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and The Washington Post (1877-2007).

The Pittsburgh Courier was the most widely circulated black newspaper in the U.S. in the early 20th century. It challenged the representation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms in the cause of civil rights. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text.

This database provides a searchable facsimile of every page of every issue of the Washington Evening Star from its founding on December 16, 1852 to the day it ceased publishing on August 7, 1981. Considered the “paper of record” for national political coverage, the Star was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. The paper covers nearly 130 years of American history, offering significant new research opportunities from the Antebellum Period to World War I to the Post-Vietnam Era.