Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News from China in English
The following English-language newspapers are published in China and provide coverage of current events.
- China Daily (中国日报)
China Daily is published daily in China and by branch offices in North America, Africa, and Europe. It covers a variety of topics from politics and business to culture and sports, and is slightly more liberal than most major Chinese-language newspapers.
- World News Connection
World News Connection also offers a comprehensive archive of news releases from China from 1995 to 2013.
- Renmin Ribao (人民日报)
Renmin Ribao (People's Daily) is an official newspaper of the Chinese Communist Party. It covers political and social affairs, national policies and regulations, international and domestic news, science and technology, and literature reviews.
Global Times (环球时报)
Global Times is a daily Chinese newspaper under the People's Daily (Renmin Ribao). While the Chinese edition has a conservative perspective, the English edition is more moderate.
Shanghai Daily (上海日报)
Shanghai Daily is one of the largest English-language newspapers in eastern China. It mainly focuses on the latest news out of Shanghai and neighboring cities, but it also covers various national and global stories.
Xinhua News Net (新华网)
The Xinhua News Agency is the biggest and most influential media group in China, and Xinhua News Net is a news service website sponsored by the Xinhua News Agency. Xinhua is the official news channel of theChinese Communist Party and the Chinese central government.
Guangming Ribao (光明日报)
Guangming Ribao is one of the major daily newspapers in China. It focuses on science, education, and culture.
Peking Press is a specialized news provider covering the latest news in Beijing (Peking) and neighboring regions.
News from US and Other Countries
- US Newsstream
Full text access to over 500 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, as well as wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
National and international newspapers, as well as industry news sources, wire services, and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
- New York Times (Historical)
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. "The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985" makes 200 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th and 20th century history.
- Washington Post (Historical,1877-1997)
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.